UBCD4Win Forums: Wireless WPA2 AES in V3.22 built with XpSp3 - UBCD4Win Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Wireless WPA2 AES in V3.22 built with XpSp3

#1 User is offline   charlestek Icon

  • Member
  • PipPip
    • Group: Members
    • Posts: 28
    • Joined: 02-October 05

    Posted 08 February 2009 - 11:41 PM

    I read recently that people have been able to use WPA2 encryption wireless with Ubcd4win built with Win xp sp3. I just built V3.22 with Xp Sp3 and started the PE wireless service. I am using a lenovo n100 laptop with an intel 3945abg wireless adapter. With windows network connection, I was able to detect my wireless SSID, but when I tried to connect with the key, I got an infinite loop aquiring network. I am using the maximum length AES key, my key is in alphanumerics.

    The PE network configurator correctly identified the wireless adapter, and it appears fine in the device manager.

    Anyone out there have any tips to get it to work or perhaps it just won't work....

    This post has been edited by charlestek: 08 February 2009 - 11:42 PM

    0

    #2 User is offline   Joshua Icon

    • Development Team
    • PipPipPipPipPipPip
      • Group: Moderator & Development
      • Posts: 1,814
      • Joined: 20-September 04
      • Gender:Male
      • Location:Germany, 32839 Steinheim
      • Interests:Computer, Bikes, and many others

      Posted 09 February 2009 - 03:22 AM

      View Postcharlestek, on Feb 9 2009, 05:41 AM, said:

      Anyone out there have any tips to get it to work or perhaps it just won't work....

      You need FBWF plugin !!!
      http://www.drowaelde...BWF-Starter.htm

      http://www.ubcd4win.com/...topic=12407&hl=

      Joshua
      my plugin homepage:
      <a href="http://www.drowaelder.de/winpe/PEIndex.htm" target="_blank">http://www.drowaelder.de/winpe/PEIndex.htm</a>
      0

      #3 User is offline   charlestek Icon

      • Member
      • PipPip
        • Group: Members
        • Posts: 28
        • Joined: 02-October 05

        Posted 09 February 2009 - 10:56 AM

        Joshua,

        Many thanks. Thank you for all the energy and devotion you have to answer and help in these forums. Wireless would be impossible without you.
        I will try to get the WPA2 to work with your plugin.

        For my VistaPE build, I am going to try Holger's PENetwork Manager for VistaPE: http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=7036
        http://holger.winbuilder.net/



        View PostJoshua, on Feb 9 2009, 03:22 AM, said:

        View Postcharlestek, on Feb 9 2009, 05:41 AM, said:

        Anyone out there have any tips to get it to work or perhaps it just won't work....

        You need FBWF plugin !!!
        http://www.drowaelde...BWF-Starter.htm

        http://www.ubcd4win.com/...topic=12407&hl=

        Joshua

        0

        #4 User is offline   charlestek Icon

        • Member
        • PipPip
          • Group: Members
          • Posts: 28
          • Joined: 02-October 05

          Posted 11 February 2009 - 12:12 AM

          View Postcharlestek, on Feb 9 2009, 10:56 AM, said:

          Joshua,

          Many thanks. Thank you for all the energy and devotion you have to answer and help in these forums. Wireless would be impossible without you.
          I will try to get the WPA2 to work with your plugin.

          For my VistaPE build, I am going to try Holger's PENetwork Manager for VistaPE: http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=7036
          http://holger.winbuilder.net/



          View PostJoshua, on Feb 9 2009, 03:22 AM, said:

          View Postcharlestek, on Feb 9 2009, 05:41 AM, said:

          Anyone out there have any tips to get it to work or perhaps it just won't work....

          You need FBWF plugin !!!
          http://www.drowaelde...BWF-Starter.htm

          http://www.ubcd4win.com/...topic=12407&hl=

          Joshua

          This post has been edited by charlestek: 11 February 2009 - 12:18 AM

          0

          #5 User is offline   charlestek Icon

          • Member
          • PipPip
            • Group: Members
            • Posts: 28
            • Joined: 02-October 05

            Posted 12 February 2009 - 01:31 AM

            Joshua,

            I installed FBFW with files from the Vista CD source directory. After booting Ubcd4win, PeNetCFG showed the intel 3945abg adapter and I accepted its settings. I made sure the FBFW was running, started the wireless service, then went to network connections and windows detected my wireless ssid. I connected with my alphanumeric WPA2 (aes) key and I still get aquiring address stuck in a loop.

            My wireless router is a linksys WRT54GL running DD-WRT v23 SP2. The wireless runs fine under the normal WinXp or Vista Os running when I'm not booting from Ubcd4Win.

            This post has been edited by charlestek: 12 February 2009 - 01:50 AM

            0

            #6 User is offline   Joshua Icon

            • Development Team
            • PipPipPipPipPipPip
              • Group: Moderator & Development
              • Posts: 1,814
              • Joined: 20-September 04
              • Gender:Male
              • Location:Germany, 32839 Steinheim
              • Interests:Computer, Bikes, and many others

              Posted 12 February 2009 - 03:12 AM

              View Postcharlestek, on Feb 12 2009, 07:31 AM, said:

              I connected with my alphanumeric WPA2 (aes) key and I still get aquiring address stuck in a loop.

              Yes, i can confirm that after changing my wireless router from WPA/WPA2 to WPA2 only.
              It did not work! :surrender:
              Only WEP and WPA works. i will look for that, but it needs some time,
              because i have some other things on my to do list first. :secret:

              Joshua
              my plugin homepage:
              <a href="http://www.drowaelder.de/winpe/PEIndex.htm" target="_blank">http://www.drowaelder.de/winpe/PEIndex.htm</a>
              0

              #7 User is offline   charlestek Icon

              • Member
              • PipPip
                • Group: Members
                • Posts: 28
                • Joined: 02-October 05

                Posted 14 February 2009 - 01:14 AM

                Joshua,

                Thanks for adding it to your queue. I look forward to seeing it in the future.


                Phil
                0

                #8 User is offline   charlestek Icon

                • Member
                • PipPip
                  • Group: Members
                  • Posts: 28
                  • Joined: 02-October 05

                  Posted 21 April 2009 - 08:14 PM

                  Joshua,

                  I was checking in to see if you might have had time to work on WPA2 yet.

                  Thanks,

                  Phil
                  0

                  #9 User is offline   rdsok Icon

                  • rdsok
                  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
                    • Group: Admin
                    • Posts: 6,039
                    • Joined: 02-October 05
                    • Gender:Male
                    • Location:Norman, Ok. USA

                    Posted 21 April 2009 - 08:53 PM

                    It does work with WPA2 but that requires that you have a FBWF plugin AND XP SP3 is used as your Windows source files since SP2 didn't have WPA2 support in it ( without the updates that MS released that is ) ( Windows 2003 sources require at least SP2 )
                    Plan A is always more effective when the device you are working on understands that Plan B involves either a large hammer or screwdriver....
                    0

                    #10 User is offline   Joshua Icon

                    • Development Team
                    • PipPipPipPipPipPip
                      • Group: Moderator & Development
                      • Posts: 1,814
                      • Joined: 20-September 04
                      • Gender:Male
                      • Location:Germany, 32839 Steinheim
                      • Interests:Computer, Bikes, and many others

                      Posted 22 April 2009 - 12:35 AM

                      View Postcharlestek, on Apr 22 2009, 03:14 AM, said:

                      I was checking in to see if you might have had time to work on WPA2 yet.

                      Yes, it works. read post from rdsok, above.

                      http://www.drowaelde...vice/WPA2-1.JPG
                      http://www.drowaelde...vice/WPA2-2.JPG

                      Joshua
                      my plugin homepage:
                      <a href="http://www.drowaelder.de/winpe/PEIndex.htm" target="_blank">http://www.drowaelder.de/winpe/PEIndex.htm</a>
                      0

                      #11 User is offline   charlestek Icon

                      • Member
                      • PipPip
                        • Group: Members
                        • Posts: 28
                        • Joined: 02-October 05

                        Posted 18 May 2009 - 11:08 AM

                        Joshua,

                        I'm sorry to report as per my first post, it does not work! I am indeed using win xp sp3 as a source and I installed fbfw with the latest files from waik. I am using the maximum length key.

                        Still stuck in "aquiring network"

                        View PostJoshua, on Apr 22 2009, 12:35 AM, said:

                        View Postcharlestek, on Apr 22 2009, 03:14 AM, said:

                        I was checking in to see if you might have had time to work on WPA2 yet.

                        Yes, it works. read post from rdsok, above.

                        http://www.drowaelde...vice/WPA2-1.JPG
                        http://www.drowaelde...vice/WPA2-2.JPG

                        Joshua

                        0

                        #12 User is offline   charlestek Icon

                        • Member
                        • PipPip
                          • Group: Members
                          • Posts: 28
                          • Joined: 02-October 05

                          Posted 18 May 2009 - 05:31 PM

                          I just got it to work! The problem is when PeNetwork Configurator starts, in the past, I chose the wired nic and then tried to connect the wireless, and it behaves as above.
                          Even if you chose the wired nic and then used the Network Configurator to chose the wireless nic, it will not work.

                          Upon booting then going into network setup, you must always chose the wireless nic first, then start the wireless service, then start FBFW. I don't know if the last two steps are reversible.
                          Then you use the wireless icon in the tray to find the network and enter the key.

                          For some reason chosing the wired nic first screws up the wireless stack.



                          View Postcharlestek, on May 18 2009, 11:08 AM, said:

                          Joshua,

                          I'm sorry to report as per my first post, it does not work! I am indeed using win xp sp3 as a source and I installed fbfw with the latest files from waik. I am using the maximum length key.

                          Still stuck in "aquiring network"

                          View PostJoshua, on Apr 22 2009, 12:35 AM, said:

                          View Postcharlestek, on Apr 22 2009, 03:14 AM, said:

                          I was checking in to see if you might have had time to work on WPA2 yet.

                          Yes, it works. read post from rdsok, above.

                          http://www.drowaelde...vice/WPA2-1.JPG
                          http://www.drowaelde...vice/WPA2-2.JPG

                          Joshua

                          0

                          #13 User is offline   rwfnetworking Icon

                          • Newbie
                          • Pip
                            • Group: Members
                            • Posts: 17
                            • Joined: 12-June 09

                            Posted 24 June 2009 - 09:54 PM

                            Thanks for the info. I had my working at one time and for the life of me, I could not figure out why it was not working now. I think you I must of said "No" to starting network services and then launched he wireless. I also noticed in the latest build of UNCD4Win that the pnetcfg plugin has an config screen that allows you to start Networking, wireless services on boot. I'm curious if that may cure some things too?

                            Robert




                            View Postcharlestek, on May 18 2009, 03:31 PM, said:

                            I just got it to work! The problem is when PeNetwork Configurator starts, in the past, I chose the wired nic and then tried to connect the wireless, and it behaves as above.
                            Even if you chose the wired nic and then used the Network Configurator to chose the wireless nic, it will not work.

                            Upon booting then going into network setup, you must always chose the wireless nic first, then start the wireless service, then start FBFW. I don't know if the last two steps are reversible.
                            Then you use the wireless icon in the tray to find the network and enter the key.

                            For some reason chosing the wired nic first screws up the wireless stack.



                            View Postcharlestek, on May 18 2009, 11:08 AM, said:

                            Joshua,

                            I'm sorry to report as per my first post, it does not work! I am indeed using win xp sp3 as a source and I installed fbfw with the latest files from waik. I am using the maximum length key.

                            Still stuck in "aquiring network"

                            View PostJoshua, on Apr 22 2009, 12:35 AM, said:

                            View Postcharlestek, on Apr 22 2009, 03:14 AM, said:

                            I was checking in to see if you might have had time to work on WPA2 yet.

                            Yes, it works. read post from rdsok, above.

                            http://www.drowaelde...vice/WPA2-1.JPG
                            http://www.drowaelde...vice/WPA2-2.JPG

                            Joshua

                            0

                            Page 1 of 1
                            • You cannot start a new topic
                            • You cannot reply to this topic

                            1 User(s) are reading this topic
                            0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users