UBCD4Win Forums: Second WINPE Image - UBCD4Win Forums

Jump to content

  • (4 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Second WINPE Image

#16 User is offline   cdob Icon

  • Special Guest
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
    • Group: Moderator & Development
    • Posts: 1,434
    • Joined: 19-October 05

    Posted 13 May 2009 - 12:41 PM

    View Postwesleyh, on May 13 2009, 12:45 PM, said:

    Yes there are different directories but I do notice that it puts some of the files into the I386 folder
    Which files goes into I386 folder?

    Quote

    Copying file "C:\UBCD4Win\plugin\Multiboot-003\WinPE1\files\I386\SETUPLDR.BIN" to "C:\UBCD4Win\BartPE\WPE1\SETUPLDR.BIN"
    This files go to \WPE1\, not to I386.

    Quote

    DecompressOrCopy file "C:\UBCD4Win\plugin\Multiboot-003\WinPE1\files\winnt.sif" to "C:\UBCD4Win\BartPE\winnt.sif"
    Move C:\UBCD4Win\plugin\Multiboot-003\WinPE1\files\winnt.sif" to C:\UBCD4Win\plugin\Multiboot-003\WinPE1\files\I386\SYSTEM32\WINNT.SIF"

    Read the instrouctions and comments again.
    Use UPPERCASE names. Do it!

    Quote

    There is no txtsetup.sif and when it did not find this file it crashed.

    I have made the DVD work now. now i have to do is clean a few thigs up like above
    Is txtsetup.sif solved? Does your PE contain a txtsetup.sif? At which directory is this located?

    Use the Add reply button. There is no need to a full quote.
    0

    #17 User is offline   wesleyh Icon

    • Member
    • PipPip
      • Group: Members
      • Posts: 51
      • Joined: 29-April 09

      Posted 14 May 2009 - 10:09 AM

      First Question
      Why Move C:\UBCD4Win\plugin\Multiboot-003\WinPE1\files\winnt.sif" to C:\UBCD4Win\plugin\Multiboot-003\WinPE1\files\I386\SYSTEM32\WINNT.SIF" and not just I386? also were will it end up putting this file in the end?
      Second What would I change the setupldr.bin to?


      In my boot cd there is no txtsetup.sif just a winnt.sif
      I changed the setupldr.bin to make sure it said to point to the I386 when I edited setupldr.bin I did a replace all and it died once I found the line for txtsetup.sif and winnt.sif I changed it to I386 and I think it is using the one from the BartPE I386. do you have to have a txtsetup.sif if you have a winnt.sif?
      0

      #18 User is offline   thegod Icon

      • Newbie
      • Pip
        • Group: Members
        • Posts: 3
        • Joined: 15-May 09

        Posted 15 May 2009 - 01:38 AM

        View Postwesleyh, on May 7 2009, 06:07 PM, said:

        I have a special WINPE Image ISO that I would like to use on the same disk as the UBCDWIN Version. I am using DVD's and I will also be using a Thumb Drive. What I need it a Menu that I can choose to boot the UBCDWin or my other WINPE or BartPE image. they are both in ISO formats that i can extract to whatever folder I need

        you hawe to take a look at grubfordos or grubforwin or syslinux isolinux.
        that are the tools used to boot ubcd.
        after you learn how to use them .
        you will know how to boot a iso image [not all bootable iso images are supported by that tools ]
        ubcd boots using bootloaerkernel images which stands on CD\images\*.img
        0

        #19 User is offline   cdob Icon

        • Special Guest
        • PipPipPipPipPipPip
          • Group: Moderator & Development
          • Posts: 1,434
          • Joined: 19-October 05

          Posted 15 May 2009 - 05:40 AM

          View Postwesleyh, on May 14 2009, 10:09 AM, said:

          Why Move C:\UBCD4Win\plugin\Multiboot-003\WinPE1\files\winnt.sif" to C:\UBCD4Win\plugin\Multiboot-003\WinPE1\files\I386\SYSTEM32\WINNT.SIF"
          What's the content of your winnt.sif? Did you create this file?

          Quote

          I changed the setupldr.bin to make sure it said to point to the I386
          Well, so far this was not asked and is not required so far. BCDW does do this in RAM.
          0

          #20 User is offline   wesleyh Icon

          • Member
          • PipPip
            • Group: Members
            • Posts: 51
            • Joined: 29-April 09

            Posted 21 May 2009 - 10:49 AM

            the WINNT.sif call a setup routine that will run when loading the OS

            I thought that after reading this link from the reply http://www.msfn.org/...showtopic=58410, that I had to change this according to the documentation is this not needed?


            As for Creating a USB thimb Drive with the CD working OK is there anything different I need to do, like create sepertate menus or ini's, other then select the option for USBBOOT?
            0

            #21 User is offline   cdob Icon

            • Special Guest
            • PipPipPipPipPipPip
              • Group: Moderator & Development
              • Posts: 1,434
              • Joined: 19-October 05

              Posted 21 May 2009 - 11:39 AM

              View Postwesleyh, on May 21 2009, 11:49 AM, said:

              the WINNT.sif call a setup routine that will run when loading the OS
              Did previous WinPE contain a winnt.sif?
              No: delete the file
              Yes: post the contents

              Ignore winnt.sif at msfn.org topic 58410.

              Quote

              As for Creating a USB thimb Drive with the CD working OK is there anything different I need to do, like create sepertate menus or ini's, other then select the option for USBBOOT?
              Yes, you have to edit setupldr.bin.
              Solve DVD first. What's your current DVD experience?
              0

              #22 User is offline   wesleyh Icon

              • Member
              • PipPip
                • Group: Members
                • Posts: 51
                • Joined: 29-April 09

                Posted 21 May 2009 - 12:58 PM

                The DVD is working fine. with the current options and settings and menu options If i choose the correct Item in the Menu now it loads everything correctly I have my winpe disk and my current Ultimate Boot CD in the options and everything starts without a problem.


                The Winnt.sif loads an ISO as the RAM disk like below. I did not create this it was create before I got it.
                winnt.sif

                [SetupData]
                BootDevice = "ramdisk(0)"
                BootPath = "\i386\system32\"
                OsLoadOptions = "/fastdetect /rdpath=pe.iso /minint /rdexportascd /noguiboot "
                0

                #23 User is offline   cdob Icon

                • Special Guest
                • PipPipPipPipPipPip
                  • Group: Moderator & Development
                  • Posts: 1,434
                  • Joined: 19-October 05

                  Posted 21 May 2009 - 02:31 PM

                  wesleyh said:

                  The Winnt.sif loads an ISO as the RAM disk like below.

                  Well, this was a previous question

                  View Postcdob, on May 11 2009, 04:53 PM, said:

                  There is ISO RAM loading
                  http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=10482
                  Can you use this?

                  As you include single files now, delete winnt.sif.

                  Create a USB stick, try boot loader grub4dos.
                  Use current solutions and report the behaviour.
                  0

                  #24 User is offline   wesleyh Icon

                  • Member
                  • PipPip
                    • Group: Members
                    • Posts: 51
                    • Joined: 29-April 09

                    Posted 21 May 2009 - 03:12 PM

                    how can I delete the winnt.sif if i need that to load my PE.ISO in RAM the instructions on the 911 forums show you need the winnt.sif
                    0

                    #25 User is offline   cdob Icon

                    • Special Guest
                    • PipPipPipPipPipPip
                      • Group: Moderator & Development
                      • Posts: 1,434
                      • Joined: 19-October 05

                      Posted 21 May 2009 - 03:54 PM

                      Do you use ISO RAM load at DVD now?
                      Did you changed the approach?
                      Didn't you intended to add single files?

                      Which layout does your DVD use now?
                      0

                      #26 User is offline   wesleyh Icon

                      • Member
                      • PipPip
                        • Group: Members
                        • Posts: 51
                        • Joined: 29-April 09

                        Posted 22 May 2009 - 09:27 AM

                        for one PE I load the ISO for the second I use individual Files. I can not get the ISO Side.

                        I can not seem to get The ISO's to load the recommened way unless I tell the Setupldr.BIN File to use the I386 from the PE Folder. I can get 1 to work but not the second one. it seems to fail with the second ISO it can not find the txtsetup.sif yet with the RAMDISK there is none

                        Lets try this again First I will try individual Files
                        I have taken all files out of the ISO just like the BartPE Structure and I am testing this to see if that works.

                        Next I would like to try the ISO to see if it works correctly but it seems like I can never get it to work correctly and i am not sure why that ISO Fails. maybe bootsec.bin problems but i thought you only could have 1 bootsec.bin per CD or is it per folder.

                        This post has been edited by wesleyh: 22 May 2009 - 10:00 AM

                        0

                        #27 User is offline   wesleyh Icon

                        • Member
                        • PipPip
                          • Group: Members
                          • Posts: 51
                          • Joined: 29-April 09

                          Posted 22 May 2009 - 01:10 PM

                          this is not working the way I want


                          I have 2 PE Builds non ISO. the first one is the Ultimate/bartPE the second is a microsoft PE CD. The ultimate will boots fine when I try to select my second WINPE under WPE1 folder it gives me an NTdetect Error.


                          I will attach a Picture of the Directory Structure if someone can tell me how or i will email it out

                          This post has been edited by wesleyh: 22 May 2009 - 01:12 PM

                          0

                          #28 User is offline   wesleyh Icon

                          • Member
                          • PipPip
                            • Group: Members
                            • Posts: 51
                            • Joined: 29-April 09

                            Posted 26 May 2009 - 12:45 PM

                            Let start Over

                            Folder Layout

                            I386 (ultimate CD)
                            WPE1 (WinPE) Tried Also
                            WPE2 (Plain BARTPE)

                            These are all folders with all the files from each CD copied into The Folders.

                            I have Created a Menu Item for Each and copied the SETUPLDR.BIN to WPE1 and WPE2 the first one boots fine but the WPE1 and WPE2 has a NTDETECT Error. Am i missing something?
                            0

                            #29 User is offline   cdob Icon

                            • Special Guest
                            • PipPipPipPipPipPip
                              • Group: Moderator & Development
                              • Posts: 1,434
                              • Joined: 19-October 05

                              Posted 26 May 2009 - 01:07 PM

                              View Postwesleyh, on May 26 2009, 12:45 PM, said:

                              These are all folders with all the files from each CD copied into The Folders.
                              Which folders does exist at DVD? Name all folders.

                              How do you copy files?

                              Quote

                              I have Created a Menu Item
                              Which menu item do you create?

                              Which ntdetect.com files exist at DVD? Name the full path.

                              How do you build the ISO image?
                              0

                              #30 User is offline   wesleyh Icon

                              • Member
                              • PipPip
                                • Group: Members
                                • Posts: 51
                                • Joined: 29-April 09

                                Posted 26 May 2009 - 03:04 PM

                                BCDW
                                I386 (UBCD)
                                Program Files
                                Programs
                                WPE1
                                WPE2

                                Files
                                BOOTSEC.BIN (UBCD)
                                WIN51IP
                                WIN51IP.SP3

                                I just Copy and Paste the Directory Structure In the Main Plug-in and tell it to copy all files to the WPE1 and WPE2
                                The Menu is the BCDW menu I just had the Plug-in Create that menu Item Option
                                C:\UBCD4Win\BartPE\WPE1\NTDETECT.COM
                                C:\UBCD4Win\BartPE\WPE2\NTDETECT.COM
                                C:\UBCD4Win\BartPE\I386\NTDETECT.COM

                                I build the ISO using the UBCD Tool and that Creates the CD ISO
                                0

                                • (4 Pages)
                                • +
                                • 1
                                • 2
                                • 3
                                • 4
                                • You cannot start a new topic
                                • You cannot reply to this topic

                                1 User(s) are reading this topic
                                0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users