UBCD4Win Forums: I need to make a Bootable XP pro CD. - UBCD4Win Forums

• (2 Pages)
  • +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

I need to make a Bootable XP pro CD. I am new at bootable CD burning and need a bit of help.

#1 User is offline   slaterlp Icon

• Pip
    • Group: Banned

Posted 31 May 2009 - 10:24 PM

Hi. This my first post here.

What a great site. I think I may finally be at the right place to get help.
    I have looked in so many other places i have totaly confused myself. :)

Simply put, I need to make a bootable XPpro CD, using my legal copy i386 directory on my thinkpad, as the source for the XPpro CD files.

Can someone please help a confused bootable ISO file novice, and point me at the right instructions? Please?

Basically. My thinkpad T60 has XPpro. It's a LEGAL copy, and I have the legal product key. I have upgraded to Sp3.

What I dont have is an XP cd, it didn't come with one, or a floppy drive, and the recovery programes dont work to allow me to make a CD.

Luckily it does have a FULL copy of the xcp cd in the i386 directory and it matches the product key. I have checked this by a trial partial new install.

I have tried to make a bootable CD from this, but failed miserably as I am an iso file novice. So I need a bit of expert help.

I have downloaded Imgburn, Easycd creator, CDburnxppro, Freeeasycdburner, and Microsoft tools dos CDBURN.EXE.

i also have ISObuster and winimage. It was one of the above programs that led me here, in my confusion I have forgotten which.

I have downloaded various bootable iso files for win98 and dos, and even tried to extract the bootable bit from a friends XPpro cd using Iso buster, and tried adding that to my own XP files. But it failed to boot. Dont laugh.

I also have Sonic CD burning software installed (it came with the T60), and dont think the makebootable button is doing the job. It burns the Cd's, but they wont boot.