UBCD4Win Forums: Ntldr Is Corrupt - UBCD4Win Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Ntldr Is Corrupt

#1 User is offline   Android Icon

  • Newbie
  • Pip
    • Group: Members
    • Posts: 2
    • Joined: 15-September 09

    Posted 15 September 2009 - 12:50 AM

    I downloaded and installed the software and then created a boot disc using my Windows Home Server disc. I am getting NTLDR is missing when I start the computer, if I try to to start with the boot disc I am getting NTLDR is corrupt. From the boot menu if I choose launch UBCD4Win (I think, the default option) then it comes up, also if I try to start the recovery console I get the same problem. Is this something that I am doing wrong? Or does the software not work with Windows Home Server? I think it is just the same as Small Business Server 2003 internally. There is no recovery console available on the install disc for WHS so I can't fix the problem with that which is why I downloaded this boot disc.

    Thanks.
    0

    #2 User is offline   mbarnes Icon

    • Ultimate Member
    • PipPipPipPipPip
      • Group: Members
      • Posts: 506
      • Joined: 13-November 05

      Posted 15 September 2009 - 07:37 AM

      Hi Android

      Windows 2003 and latter Windows do not work with the Multi Boot menu software used when making a UBCD4Win CD
      (different menu software is used when building a bootable usb memory stick)

      They can detect when their boot files are loaded into memory and patched and object.
      (part of increased security against hacking, root kits etc)

      All of the multiboot plugins need to be disabled then rebuild project

      I have no Idea how close Windows Home Server is to Windows 2003 and if this will then work

      regards
      Mike Barnes
      0

      #3 User is offline   Android Icon

      • Newbie
      • Pip
        • Group: Members
        • Posts: 2
        • Joined: 15-September 09

        Posted 15 September 2009 - 11:06 AM

        Thanks, that worked perfectly. Once I was in, turns out I just needed to run chkdsk /f and everything is fine again. These things would be so much easier if WHS had a recovery console on the disc.
        0

        #4 User is offline   cdob Icon

        • Special Guest
        • PipPipPipPipPipPip
          • Group: Moderator & Development
          • Posts: 1,435
          • Joined: 19-October 05

          Posted 15 September 2009 - 12:30 PM

          View PostAndroid, on 15 September 2009 - 12:06 PM, said:

          if WHS had a recovery console on the disc.

          Boot WHS and press F10 at F6 message.
          0

          Page 1 of 1
          • You cannot start a new topic
          • You cannot reply to this topic

          1 User(s) are reading this topic
          0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users