UBCD4Win Forums: Ubcd4Win Not Likeing Oem Version Of Xp - UBCD4Win Forums

Jump to content

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Ubcd4Win Not Likeing Oem Version Of Xp

#16 User is offline   archerr1 Icon

  • Newbie
  • Pip
    • Group: Members
    • Posts: 11
    • Joined: 05-October 09

    Posted 07 October 2009 - 10:33 AM

    View PostSteelTrepid, on 07 October 2009 - 08:15 AM, said:

    Ok, so you copied the Dell disc to a folder. Did you then run the CMD scripts and such on that folder? Are you sure each step completed?

    I take it that by CMD scripts you are talking about the UBCD4Win PE Builder file?
    The source is where I copied the Dell XP Pro disk.
    I checked the Burn to CD|DVD button.
    Everything else on the Main screen are defaults.
    I don't change anything on the Plugin screen.
    Can I assume that it can't delete the 4 files because they were never created?
    What is the loadkey() failed message mean?



    ->R
    0

    #17 User is offline   SteelTrepid Icon

    • Administrator
    • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
      • Group: Admin
      • Posts: 6,191
      • Joined: 27-April 04
      • Gender:Male
      • Location:Ohio

      Posted 07 October 2009 - 11:03 AM

      NO, we stepped back and I am trying to make sure you actually followed the FAQ steps correctly. From the statements you are making, I still don't think you did it right. Please clarify that. Do you understand what the FAQ topic is talking about and did you follow it "to a T"??
      "I play Russian roulette everyday, a man's sport, with a bullet called life"

      "My cause is noble, my power is pure"
      0

      #18 User is offline   archerr1 Icon

      • Newbie
      • Pip
        • Group: Members
        • Posts: 11
        • Joined: 05-October 09

        Posted 07 October 2009 - 11:41 AM

        View PostSteelTrepid, on 07 October 2009 - 11:03 AM, said:

        NO, we stepped back and I am trying to make sure you actually followed the FAQ steps correctly. From the statements you are making, I still don't think you did it right. Please clarify that. Do you understand what the FAQ topic is talking about and did you follow it "to a T"??

        The FAC you are talking about id "What steps are necessary when building with a Dell CD"??
        I downloaded and installed the subinacl tool to C:\Program Files\Windows Resource Kits\Tools.
        Downloaded dellregfix.zip , unziped it.
        Copied both subinacl.exe & dellregfix.cmd to the folder holding the copy of the Dell install CD, in the folder holding setupreg.hiv file (c:\XPCD\i386).
        I ran the dellregfix.cmd scrip file from within the c:\XPCD folder as instructed.
        There were no errors reported in this step.
        ->R
        0

        #19 User is offline   SteelTrepid Icon

        • Administrator
        • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
          • Group: Admin
          • Posts: 6,191
          • Joined: 27-April 04
          • Gender:Male
          • Location:Ohio

          Posted 07 October 2009 - 12:12 PM

          Ok thank you, sounds like you did it right. I apologize if you think I'm being a pain in the ass, but I just want to make sure because several people in the past have come back to say they missed a step.

          Now we just need to figure out what is going on with you. Something is locking down those files. I don't know if it's AV or AS software. What protection software do you have installed on the system? Also, is it possible to try and build on another system?
          "I play Russian roulette everyday, a man's sport, with a bullet called life"

          "My cause is noble, my power is pure"
          0

          #20 User is offline   archerr1 Icon

          • Newbie
          • Pip
            • Group: Members
            • Posts: 11
            • Joined: 05-October 09

            Posted 07 October 2009 - 01:37 PM

            View PostSteelTrepid, on 07 October 2009 - 12:12 PM, said:

            Ok thank you, sounds like you did it right. I apologize if you think I'm being a pain in the ass, but I just want to make sure because several people in the past have come back to say they missed a step.

            Now we just need to figure out what is going on with you. Something is locking down those files. I don't know if it's AV or AS software. What protection software do you have installed on the system? Also, is it possible to try and build on another system?

            Not a problem.....running AVAST and Windows Firewall is all.
            I did the install from Safe Mode with Avast off the last time I tried the build
            I will build from another PC this weekend using a different Dell XP Pro install disk.
            ->R
            0

            #21 User is offline   cdob Icon

            • Special Guest
            • PipPipPipPipPipPip
              • Group: Moderator & Development
              • Posts: 1,435
              • Joined: 19-October 05

              Posted 07 October 2009 - 02:41 PM

              View Postarcherr1, on 07 October 2009 - 02:37 PM, said:

              using a different Dell XP Pro install disk.

              A Dell SP3 CD may have new surprises. A adjust maybe required.
              I don't have such a CD.

              Try the suggestion at a Dell SP2 CD.
              Or slipstream SP3.
              0

              #22 User is offline   hilander999 Icon

              • Project Development
              • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
                • Group: Moderator & Development
                • Posts: 3,662
                • Joined: 28-September 05
                • Gender:Male

                Posted 07 October 2009 - 09:11 PM

                I run AVAST and there is no problem building with it fully enabled.
                Your build will run a little faster with the on-access scanner turned off, but it works fine with it running.
                Dead Blow Hammer - 19 colors of Duck Tape - Bailing Wire
                0

                #23 User is offline   amlitnod Icon

                • Newbie
                • Pip
                  • Group: Members
                  • Posts: 1
                  • Joined: 08-October 09

                  Posted 08 October 2009 - 05:38 PM

                  fyi, had same problems followed steps,
                  Dell d610
                  Dell CD XP sp2 copied to HD

                  Created ISO, now to burn CD.
                  0

                  #24 User is offline   archerr1 Icon

                  • Newbie
                  • Pip
                    • Group: Members
                    • Posts: 11
                    • Joined: 05-October 09

                    Posted 12 October 2009 - 07:18 AM

                    OK The problem must have been the Dell XP PRO SP3 disk and/or the first machine I attempted the build on.
                    Copied SP 2 to the my harddrive on a second machine, made the changes recommended and sucessfully built my Ultimate Boot CD for Windows disk.
                    Boots up fine....now I need to figure out what to do with all that stuff.
                    If you would like my copy of SP 3 for your developers let me know your snailmail address and I will send it.
                    Thanks for all you help.
                    ->R
                    0

                    #25 User is offline   Serotonin Icon

                    • Newbie
                    • Pip
                      • Group: Members
                      • Posts: 2
                      • Joined: 14-October 09

                      Posted 14 October 2009 - 05:47 AM

                      Hi Guys,

                      I too have had the same problem when using a dell build disc with SP3 on it - the reason for using it as a basis for the windows files is that when I run my previously created Ubcd4win (that has sp2 on) it loads everything and starts up to the point of 2 or 3 cycles of the xp starting progress bar then blue screens, i thought it might have been this laptop (dell vostro 1520) so tried on another (as i have 10 of the same model to image and ubcd4win has been so useful in the past to speed this process up) unfortunately it blue screened on that machine too so assumed it was down to a HW incompatability with the associated windows drivers so thought SP3 may be the key.

                      I know it's a bit of a shot in the dark but is there anything you guys could suggest to aid in the isolation of the failure? unfortunately it just gives a long memory reference and doesnt indicate what exactly was failing I wasnt sure if there was any logs or anything that were wrote to so I could see how far it gets in startup before crashing out so i can manually adapt the called drivers?

                      Thanks
                      0

                      #26 User is offline   rdsok Icon

                      • rdsok
                      • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
                        • Group: Admin
                        • Posts: 6,039
                        • Joined: 02-October 05
                        • Gender:Male
                        • Location:Norman, Ok. USA

                        Posted 14 October 2009 - 01:41 PM

                        Serotonin,

                        Instead of hijacking someone else's help thread... start your own and give complete information... exact errors, what hard drive controller is in the system.. what the exact model is, what version of Windows you are building on and what version of Windows you are using as the source files etc.
                        Plan A is always more effective when the device you are working on understands that Plan B involves either a large hammer or screwdriver....
                        0

                        • (2 Pages)
                        • +
                        • 1
                        • 2
                        • You cannot start a new topic
                        • You cannot reply to this topic

                        1 User(s) are reading this topic
                        0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users