UBCD4Win Forums: Ubcd4Win And A Bancos Detection - UBCD4Win Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Ubcd4Win And A Bancos Detection

#1 User is offline   Eclipz Icon

  • Newbie
  • Pip
    • Group: Members
    • Posts: 9
    • Joined: 14-October 09
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Greenville, Tx

    Posted 15 October 2009 - 07:04 PM

    While running A sqaured tonight on a customers PC from the UBCD geoshell I noticed that after updating A Squared that it was detecting network.exe as Bancos!A2, in the ramdrive X:\i386\system32 folder. I searched the forums long before posting to see if this had cropped up before. False postive? or do I need to check my Build system to see if something got injected while building the CD.
    0

    #2 User is offline   Eclipz Icon

    • Newbie
    • Pip
      • Group: Members
      • Posts: 9
      • Joined: 14-October 09
      • Gender:Male
      • Location:Greenville, Tx

      Posted 15 October 2009 - 07:05 PM

      Oops posted in the wrong forum, i apologize could someone move this please? thank you =o)

      This post has been edited by Eclipz: 15 October 2009 - 07:06 PM

      0

      #3 User is offline   rdsok Icon

      • rdsok
      • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
        • Group: Admin
        • Posts: 6,013
        • Joined: 02-October 05
        • Gender:Male
        • Location:Norman, Ok. USA

        Posted 15 October 2009 - 07:11 PM

        Moved...


        First.... the X: drive is not the ram drive... its the disk you booted from.

        Second, and to answer your question... it's a false or riskware detection only
        Plan A is always more effective when the device you are working on understands that Plan B involves either a large hammer or screwdriver....
        0

        #4 User is offline   Eclipz Icon

        • Newbie
        • Pip
          • Group: Members
          • Posts: 9
          • Joined: 14-October 09
          • Gender:Male
          • Location:Greenville, Tx

          Posted 15 October 2009 - 07:13 PM

          Thank you for that information, and your prompt reply :D
          0

          #5 User is offline   pcuser Icon

          • Project Programmer
          • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
            • Group: Moderator & Development
            • Posts: 3,822
            • Joined: 20-November 04
            • Gender:Male
            • Location:Kneebrasskee

            Posted 16 October 2009 - 12:58 PM

            I have no clue why it complains about Network.exe. All the program does is write penetcfg.ini according to the settings from the GUI. I went back through the source code again last night after reading this post and the only thing I can think of is that it has the ability to enumerate network shares so they can be pre-mapped on your cd. Click "Enable File Sharing Service" -> "Add" -> "Browse".

            Should I get rid of this usefull feature just because A Squared doesn't like it?
            If you're afraid of taking any chances then the chances are great that you will never learn anything

            Multiboot Plugins - UBUSB (Ultimate Boot USB) - EzPcFix - RootKitty - Network Configuration Utility - UnIsoFS - A Small Linux Distro - SELogger - HashME - WSock - My Paypal
            0

            #6 User is offline   Eclipz Icon

            • Newbie
            • Pip
              • Group: Members
              • Posts: 9
              • Joined: 14-October 09
              • Gender:Male
              • Location:Greenville, Tx

              Posted 19 October 2009 - 02:45 PM

              Was nothing to do with UBCD4win, =oP and i didn't mean to offend. I was merely asking if it was possible that a virus had injected itself into the the ISO image or somwhere along the build point. i do apologize if it came off that way i did not mean it to.
              0

              #7 User is offline   pcuser Icon

              • Project Programmer
              • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
                • Group: Moderator & Development
                • Posts: 3,822
                • Joined: 20-November 04
                • Gender:Male
                • Location:Kneebrasskee

                Posted 19 October 2009 - 03:15 PM

                You didn't offend me at all, ASquared on the other hand is a different story. Bottom line is that there's absolutely nothing malicious about what Network.exe does and so it irritates me that it's been getting flagged for so long now.
                If you're afraid of taking any chances then the chances are great that you will never learn anything

                Multiboot Plugins - UBUSB (Ultimate Boot USB) - EzPcFix - RootKitty - Network Configuration Utility - UnIsoFS - A Small Linux Distro - SELogger - HashME - WSock - My Paypal
                0

                #8 User is offline   Eclipz Icon

                • Newbie
                • Pip
                  • Group: Members
                  • Posts: 9
                  • Joined: 14-October 09
                  • Gender:Male
                  • Location:Greenville, Tx

                  Posted 20 October 2009 - 11:14 AM

                  I can't say i completely understand your frustration right now but i am sure i will at some point in the future once i finish my degree in computer programming.

                  //continous problems

                  if(int murhpysLaw = 1; murphysLaw >= 0; murhphysLaw++)
                  {
                  cout << murphysLaw<<endl;
                  }
                  system("PAUSE");
                  return 0;
                  }

                  This post has been edited by Eclipz: 20 October 2009 - 11:14 AM

                  0

                  #9 User is offline   Eclipz Icon

                  • Newbie
                  • Pip
                    • Group: Members
                    • Posts: 9
                    • Joined: 14-October 09
                    • Gender:Male
                    • Location:Greenville, Tx

                    Posted 20 October 2009 - 02:12 PM

                    Hmm typos.. the killer of programs..

                    //continuous problems
                    int main()
                    {
                    for( int murphiesLaw = 1; murphiesLaw >= 0; murphiesLaw++)
                    {
                    cout << murphiesLaw << endl;
                    }
                    system("PAUSE");
                    return 0;
                    }

                    There =oP
                    0

                    Page 1 of 1
                    • You cannot start a new topic
                    • You cannot reply to this topic

                    1 User(s) are reading this topic
                    0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users