UBCD4Win Forums: Mutibooting Ubcd4Win On A Usb. Can It Be Done? - UBCD4Win Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Mutibooting Ubcd4Win On A Usb. Can It Be Done?

#1 User is offline   jungleexplorer Icon

  • Newbie
  • Pip
    • Group: Members
    • Posts: 8
    • Joined: 06-November 09

    Posted 06 November 2009 - 04:01 PM

    I was wondering if it is possible to create a multiboot USB drive with UBCD4WIN and another live CD program like Acronis True Image bootable rescue CD ? I have a USB thumb drive with UBCD4WIN (Version 3.50) on it and it is working (created with UBUSB.exe 1.0.46). Is there like a way I could add an ISO image of the Acronis bootable rescue CD to the thumb drive and have it included on the UBCD boot menu? Or would I have partition the thumbdrive and create separate boot loaders? Thanks
    0

    #2 User is offline   wgjhstt247 Icon

    • Member
    • PipPip
      • Group: Members
      • Posts: 27
      • Joined: 07-November 09
      • Gender:Male
      • Location:Chicago, IL USA

      Posted 07 November 2009 - 09:54 AM

      View Postjungleexplorer, on 06 November 2009 - 03:01 PM, said:

      I was wondering if it is possible to create a multiboot USB drive with UBCD4WIN and another live CD program like Acronis True Image bootable rescue CD ?

      Yes, it is possible. You can multiboot linux kernels or windows images using grub4dos or syslinux.

      View Postjungleexplorer, on 06 November 2009 - 03:01 PM, said:

      Is there like a way I could add an ISO image of the Acronis bootable rescue CD to the thumb drive and have it included on the UBCD boot menu?

      I believe if you use grub4dos (correct me if I'm wrong), you can boot iso files directly. With syslinux, you cannot boot iso files directly, but you can take apart the iso file and boot it. This may be of some help to you, HERE

      View Postjungleexplorer, on 06 November 2009 - 03:01 PM, said:

      Or would I have partition the thumbdrive and create separate boot loaders?

      This is not necessary although people have done this in the past by using the Hitachi Microdrive filter. It could ruin your flash drive so I wouldn't recommend using it.
      0

      #3 User is offline   jungleexplorer Icon

      • Newbie
      • Pip
        • Group: Members
        • Posts: 8
        • Joined: 06-November 09

        Posted 08 November 2009 - 10:19 PM

        OK I used grub4dos. So how do I boot the Acronis ISO directly?
        0

        #4 User is offline   cdob Icon

        • Special Guest
        • PipPipPipPipPipPip
          • Group: Moderator & Development
          • Posts: 1,434
          • Joined: 19-October 05

          Posted 09 November 2009 - 06:16 AM

          View Postjungleexplorer, on 08 November 2009 - 10:19 PM, said:

          So how do I boot the Acronis ISO directly?

          Read the previous given link again.

          And remember, only some ISO images can boot that way, NOT all.

          Try
          title Acronis True Image
          ls /images/acronis.iso || find --set-root /images/acronis.iso
          map /images/acronis.iso (0xff) || map --mem /images/acronis.iso (0xff)
          map --hook
          chainloader (0xff)

          0

          #5 User is offline   jungleexplorer Icon

          • Newbie
          • Pip
            • Group: Members
            • Posts: 8
            • Joined: 06-November 09

            Posted 09 November 2009 - 06:27 PM

            That worked perfectly. Thank you.
            0

            Page 1 of 1
            • You cannot start a new topic
            • You cannot reply to this topic

            1 User(s) are reading this topic
            0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users