UBCD4Win Forums: Everest Home Edition is no more - UBCD4Win Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Everest Home Edition is no more Lavalys leaves freeware development

#1 User is offline   stidyup Icon

  • Forum News
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
    • Group: Moderator
    • Posts: 5,808
    • Joined: 21-June 04
    • Location:Yorkshire, UK, Earth, Milky Way, the known Universe and probably the unknown too....

    Posted 06 December 2005 - 03:02 AM

    Lavalys News

    Quote

    Lavalys leaves freeware development efforts dedicating all resources to its EVEREST commercial products line

    LAVAL, CANADA – December 5, 2005 – After 10 years of active development and presence in the freeware market, EVEREST Home Edition (the successor of AIDA32) is being discontinued on December 1, 2005 however, all online content related to freeware products are removed from our website already. Lavalys will continue to support this product for all users until March 2006, we will not be actively developing any new features or functionality going forward. Support is available only from our Online Community Forum.

    The success of our commercial products has played a major role and somehow forced our decision to leave the freeware market and dedicate all our resources to speed up development and support for our customers says Roger Marion.

    We strongly encourage those users interested in purchasing commercial EVEREST Ultimate Edition 2006 or EVEREST Corporate Edition to download the product and evaluate it free of charge for 30 days.

    To ease the transition, Lavalys is pleased to offer its commercial products at a special price discount of 50% between now and January 31, 2006. For more detailed information about new features, upgrade policies and pricing, please visit: www.lavalys.com.

    RescueME Virus Removal

    Mirror



    Fear is the path to the dark side. Fear leads to anger. Anger leads to hate. Hate leads to suffering.
    0

    #2 User is offline   Joshua Icon

    • Development Team
    • PipPipPipPipPipPip
      • Group: Moderator & Development
      • Posts: 1,814
      • Joined: 20-September 04
      • Gender:Male
      • Location:Germany, 32839 Steinheim
      • Interests:Computer, Bikes, and many others

      Posted 06 December 2005 - 03:07 AM

      :o:wacko::angry:
      my plugin homepage:
      <a href="http://www.drowaelder.de/winpe/PEIndex.htm" target="_blank">http://www.drowaelder.de/winpe/PEIndex.htm</a>
      0

      #3 User is offline   SteelTrepid Icon

      • Administrator
      • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
        • Group: Admin
        • Posts: 6,191
        • Joined: 27-April 04
        • Gender:Male
        • Location:Ohio

        Posted 06 December 2005 - 09:01 AM

        How did I know this would happen? :angry::angry:
        "I play Russian roulette everyday, a man's sport, with a bullet called life"

        "My cause is noble, my power is pure"
        0

        #4 User is offline   webmedic Icon

        • Ultimate Member
        • PipPipPipPipPip
          • Group: 911Cd Forum Guru
          • Posts: 579
          • Joined: 24-October 04

          Posted 06 December 2005 - 09:19 AM

          http://www.cpuid.com/pcwizard.php

          I'll try to make this into a plugin later today
          0

          #5 User is offline   SteelTrepid Icon

          • Administrator
          • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
            • Group: Admin
            • Posts: 6,191
            • Joined: 27-April 04
            • Gender:Male
            • Location:Ohio

            Posted 06 December 2005 - 11:15 AM

            :DJust checked it out, that looks pretty nice. I like the 4th paragraph on the site:

            Quote

            PC WIZARD 2006 can be distributed freely (ftp, archives, CD-ROMs...).


            I think it will be a great addition to the project.

            For those that haven't been with the project very long......
            Everest used to be included in the project about a year ago. Until they released a version that tried to block corporate users from using the free "Home" version. Bad thing about that was it effected home users also. I personally found this issue on my home system and several others reported this to me. I contacted them and they were unwilling to do anything about it, basically telling me "too bad for you!" I don't appreciate it when people act like jerks, so in the next version of the project Everest was removed. I can stand by that decision even more after this news!! Time to move on to better things and projects not run by "jerks."
            "I play Russian roulette everyday, a man's sport, with a bullet called life"

            "My cause is noble, my power is pure"
            0

            #6 User is offline   BrancoBlace Icon

            • Regular Member
            • PipPipPip
              • Group: Members
              • Posts: 134
              • Joined: 20-September 04

              Posted 06 December 2005 - 06:54 PM

              good pick up webmedic! I just DLed and installed this app on my comp. browsed thru it and am very impressed.

              looking forward to seeing it in the project.

              *blured hand gesture to Everest*
              0

              #7 User is offline   smiley Icon

              • Regular Member
              • PipPipPip
                • Group: Members
                • Posts: 154
                • Joined: 13-February 05
                • Location:Germany

                Posted 07 December 2005 - 02:40 AM

                seems to need "vb6fr.dll" in system32,
                if you use the ZIP for install.

                Quick and dirty:

                unzip, put "removable" folder into plugin\PCWizardMaster,
                then rename to "files"

                following files into plugin\PCWizardMaster:

                --------------- pcwizardm.inf ---------------------------
                ; PE Builder v3 plug-in INF
                ; Created by Bart Lagerweij
                ; 12/2005 HE

                [Version]
                Signature= "$Windows NT$"

                [PEBuilder]
                Name="APP: PC Wizard Master"
                Enable=1

                [WinntDirectories]
                a="Programs\pcwizardm",2
                b="Programs\pcwizardm\Data",2
                c="Programs\pcwizardm\Extras",2
                d="Programs\pcwizardm\Web",2
                e="Programs\pcwizardm\Language",2

                [SourceDisksFiles]
                files\*.*=a,,3
                files\Data\*.*=b,,3
                files\Extras\*.*=c,,3
                files\Web\*.*=d,,3
                files\Language\*.*=e,,3
                files\vb6fr.dll=2



                [Software.AddReg]
                ; Add to start menu
                0x2,"Sherpya\XPEinit\StartMenu","Zubehör\PCWizardM","%SystemDrive%\programs\pcwizardm\pc wizard.exe||%SystemDrive%\programs\pcwizardm\pc wizard.exe,0"

                [Append]
                nu2menu.xml, pcwizardm_nu2menu.xml
                ---------------------------------

                -------------- pcwizardm_nu2menu.xml -------------------
                <!-- Nu2Menu entry for proton -->
                <NU2MENU>
                <MENU ID="Accessories">
                <MITEM TYPE="ITEM" DISABLED="@Not(@FileExists(@GetProgramDrive()\Programs\pcwizardm\pc wizard.exe))" CMD="RUN" FUNC="@GetProgramDrive()\Programs\pcwizardm\pc wizard.exe">PC Wizard Master</MITEM>
                </MENU>
                </NU2MENU>
                ---------------------------------

                Maybe you should change the menu id ;-)

                Use at own risk.

                This post has been edited by smiley: 07 December 2005 - 03:16 AM

                0

                #8 User is offline   webmedic Icon

                • Ultimate Member
                • PipPipPipPipPip
                  • Group: 911Cd Forum Guru
                  • Posts: 579
                  • Joined: 24-October 04

                  Posted 07 December 2005 - 09:27 AM

                  thanks for that I spent most of yesterday working on my autorun plugin. But the good news is that it appears to be running now. I will try to get this out in a few minutes.
                  0

                  #9 User is offline   webmedic Icon

                  • Ultimate Member
                  • PipPipPipPipPip
                    • Group: 911Cd Forum Guru
                    • Posts: 579
                    • Joined: 24-October 04

                    Posted 07 December 2005 - 11:54 AM

                    I have the plugin finshed and will upload it shortly. I also have some updates for other things. And a new autostart plugin for those wishing to test it. It uses autoit but the autoit plugin is working without merging reg entries to this should work out great.
                    0

                    Page 1 of 1
                    • You cannot start a new topic
                    • You cannot reply to this topic

                    1 User(s) are reading this topic
                    0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users