UBCD4Win Forums: Worst system UBCD4Win V3 works with - UBCD4Win Forums

Jump to content

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Worst system UBCD4Win V3 works with

#1 User is offline   stidyup Icon

  • Forum News
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
    • Group: Moderator
    • Posts: 5,809
    • Joined: 21-June 04
    • Location:Yorkshire, UK, Earth, Milky Way, the known Universe and probably the unknown too....

    Post icon  Posted 13 June 2006 - 01:39 PM

    What's the worst system you've got UBCD4Win to work on?

    Please post system specs:
    Motherboard (if known)
    CPU
    RAM
    HD (ATA or SATA, RAID or not, etc.)
    CD/DVD drive speed
    Media used (CD or DVD and what brand)
    OS used to build CD (XP or 2003)

    Any other useful system information.

    WinXP will boot on some very slow systems (WinXP on 8mhz), however I doubt ubcd4win would boot on one of those but if someone want's to spend 30mins-1hr seeing if it will load then please have fun trying.

    This post has been edited by LittlBUGer: 13 June 2006 - 01:51 PM

    0

    #2 User is offline   stidyup Icon

    • Forum News
    • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
      • Group: Moderator
      • Posts: 5,809
      • Joined: 21-June 04
      • Location:Yorkshire, UK, Earth, Milky Way, the known Universe and probably the unknown too....

      Posted 15 June 2006 - 07:57 AM

      MSI Mobo
      400mhz Celeron
      112mb of Ram

      Booted fine, although it wouldn't display the system spec info correctly + very small ram drive so some tools will not run as not enough room.
      0

      #3 User is offline   Joshua Icon

      • Development Team
      • PipPipPipPipPipPip
        • Group: Moderator & Development
        • Posts: 1,814
        • Joined: 20-September 04
        • Gender:Male
        • Location:Germany, 32839 Steinheim
        • Interests:Computer, Bikes, and many others

        Posted 15 June 2006 - 08:01 AM

        View Poststidyup, on Jun 15 2006, 02:57 PM, said:

        very small ram drive so some tools will not run as not enough room.

        why not use a ramfile on harddisk or USB-Drive/Stick) ?

        Joshua
        0

        #4 User is offline   stidyup Icon

        • Forum News
        • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
          • Group: Moderator
          • Posts: 5,809
          • Joined: 21-June 04
          • Location:Yorkshire, UK, Earth, Milky Way, the known Universe and probably the unknown too....

          Posted 16 June 2006 - 02:19 AM

          USB would be very slow :) Only USB 1

          I was only seeing how it would boot, but using a ramfile on hdd would improve things.

          I can't try it on any slower PC's as this is the slowest we have now.
          0

          #5 User is offline   cdob Icon

          • Special Guest
          • PipPipPipPipPipPip
            • Group: Moderator & Development
            • Posts: 1,489
            • Joined: 19-October 05

            Posted 16 June 2006 - 03:49 AM

            Default UBCD4Win v3.0:

            Acer Nuovo 970CX, builded 1997
            CPU: mobile Pentium 166MMX
            RAM: 48 MB
            HD: 2 GB, IBM-DCRA-22160
            CD: 10x Toshiba XM-2402B, does read CD-R, but no CD-RW

            UBCD4Win v3.0 does work. Desktop is loaded.
            Pagefile is necessary, 64 MB used.
            E.g. SIV.exe does work.

            UBCD4Win v3.0 is booted.
            Next I inserted a CF Card, connected to PCMCIA adapter.
            CF Card get a drive letter.


            Next step:
            32 MB RAM removed, that's 16 MB RAM exist.
            UBCD4Win dosn't boot, hang at textmode:
            massstorage drivers are loaded, but can't load dmboot.sys because of low memory.


            Recovery Console didn't work.
            cmdc\txtsetup.sif contains 'RequiredMemory = 67108864' still.

            What about: cmdc.inf
            [SetValue]
            "cmdc\txtsetup.sif","SetupData","RequiredMemory","33554432"; defaults to 32mb

            0

            #6 User is offline   Nicklogan Icon

            • Newbie
            • Pip
              • Group: Members
              • Posts: 1
              • Joined: 07-June 07

              Posted 07 June 2007 - 10:04 AM

              Motherboard Intel D865GVHZ (I.E. Most dell Dimension series of systems)
              CPU 2.4 Celeron
              RAM 512MB
              HD (ATA or SATA, RAID or not, etc.) ATA WD 80GB
              CD/DVD drive speed 48x CDRW, 8x DVD ROM
              Media used (CD or DVD and what brand) CD Memorex and Verbatim
              OS used to build CD (XP or 2003) MCE 2006 OEM and XP Pro OEM

              this happens only on dell desktops(low end systems) with both cd's

              Insufficient memory sisraid2.sys
              press any key to continue

              then it reboots.

              other than that I have yet to find a system where there is an issue.

              Great product, Nick
              0

              #7 User is offline   grego1422 Icon

              • Member
              • PipPip
                • Group: Members
                • Posts: 35
                • Joined: 22-July 07

                Posted 27 July 2007 - 08:53 PM

                I have tried it in Virtual-Box with 64 of ram and it didnt work.
                0

                #8 User is offline   pcuser Icon

                • Project Programmer
                • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
                  • Group: Moderator & Development
                  • Posts: 3,956
                  • Joined: 20-November 04
                  • Gender:Male
                  • Location:Kneebrasskee

                  Posted 27 July 2007 - 10:09 PM

                  Quote

                  I have tried it in Virtual-Box with 64 of ram and it didnt work.


                  Use Joshua's Preshell to set a 128mb pagefile on the hard drive and it should work ;)
                  0

                  #9 User is offline   grego1422 Icon

                  • Member
                  • PipPip
                    • Group: Members
                    • Posts: 35
                    • Joined: 22-July 07

                    Posted 30 July 2007 - 08:06 PM

                    View Postpcuser, on Jul 28 2007, 12:09 AM, said:

                    Use Joshua's Preshell to set a 128mb pagefile on the hard drive and it should work ;)

                    I did it and worked perfectly, even with 48 of ram. with 32 it didnt work
                    0

                    #10 User is offline   aen007 Icon

                    • Member
                    • PipPip
                      • Group: Members
                      • Posts: 29
                      • Joined: 30-January 08

                      Posted 09 February 2008 - 09:14 AM

                      9Feb2009

                      Greetings.
                      I have two XP laptops (1gb/60gb & 512mb/40gb RAM/HDD)
                      and a WinME Toshiba dinosaur (160mb/4gb 233mhz PII)
                      bought when brand new in August 1988.
                      BartPE loads/runs fine (with the properly sized RAMdisk).
                      So far I have not had to the patience to wait & see
                      if UBCD4W will load on the dinosaur or not.
                      I suppose one night I will boot the UBCD4W CDRW
                      on the dinosaur and go to sleep.
                      Maybe by morning the dinosaur will have loaded UBCD4W.

                      I can, however, load Parted Magic 1.9 & UBCDos just fine
                      on the dinosaur under the UBCD4W MultiBoot menu.

                      Regards,
                      AEN

                      0

                      #11 User is offline   lmike6453 Icon

                      • Member
                      • PipPip
                        • Group: Members
                        • Posts: 49
                        • Joined: 08-December 07

                        Posted 16 April 2008 - 10:04 PM

                        using "stock" settings in ubcd4win builder the worst results i had were on an hp m7350n...awkward

                        turns out it was a super multidrive issue with the Hp 840b drive...

                        intel d 920
                        2 gb dual channeled ram
                        2 hard drives-1 ide(160gb) and 1 sata(250 gb)
                        nvidia geforce 8600gt graphics card
                        hp bios ver. 3.19
                        asus motherboard

                        i even tried a different ide cable before swapping the drive
                        0

                        #12 User is offline   jgerb0 Icon

                        • Newbie
                        • Pip
                          • Group: Members
                          • Posts: 20
                          • Joined: 24-September 08

                          Posted 18 November 2008 - 01:58 PM

                          I have Dell Optiplex GX620 and GX745's here at work, and I can't get ANY of them to boot using USB, only CD. I can't understand this, there's no special SCSI controllers or anything enabled, and when it gets to the Windows XP loading screen, it gives me the blue screen of death, and suggests I run chkdsk /f. Has anyone else had difficulties with these machines?
                          0

                          #13 User is offline   rdsok Icon

                          • rdsok
                          • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
                            • Group: Admin
                            • Posts: 6,069
                            • Joined: 02-October 05
                            • Gender:Male
                            • Location:Norman, Ok. USA

                            Posted 18 November 2008 - 09:13 PM

                            View Postjgerb0, on Nov 18 2008, 12:58 PM, said:

                            I have Dell Optiplex GX620 and GX745's here at work, and I can't get ANY of them to boot using USB, only CD. I can't understand this, there's no special SCSI controllers or anything enabled, and when it gets to the Windows XP loading screen, it gives me the blue screen of death, and suggests I run chkdsk /f. Has anyone else had difficulties with these machines?


                            Please don't just blindly post your request for help just anywhere... this post's topic is "Worst system UBCD4Win V3 works with" which has nothing to do with what you are posting about. Please start your own thread IN THE APPROPRIATE FORUM AREA
                            0

                            #14 User is offline   pcuser Icon

                            • Project Programmer
                            • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
                              • Group: Moderator & Development
                              • Posts: 3,956
                              • Joined: 20-November 04
                              • Gender:Male
                              • Location:Kneebrasskee

                              Posted 18 November 2008 - 10:54 PM

                              Quote

                              I have Dell

                              Quote

                              Has anyone else had difficulties with these machines?

                              No, none at all. Do a search for "Dell" + "Walk in the park" and you should see plenty of hits.
                              0

                              #15 User is offline   jgerb0 Icon

                              • Newbie
                              • Pip
                                • Group: Members
                                • Posts: 20
                                • Joined: 24-September 08

                                Posted 19 November 2008 - 10:54 AM

                                View Postrdsok, on Nov 18 2008, 07:13 PM, said:

                                View Postjgerb0, on Nov 18 2008, 12:58 PM, said:

                                I have Dell Optiplex GX620 and GX745's here at work, and I can't get ANY of them to boot using USB, only CD. I can't understand this, there's no special SCSI controllers or anything enabled, and when it gets to the Windows XP loading screen, it gives me the blue screen of death, and suggests I run chkdsk /f. Has anyone else had difficulties with these machines?


                                Please don't just blindly post your request for help just anywhere... this post's topic is "Worst system UBCD4Win V3 works with" which has nothing to do with what you are posting about. Please start your own thread IN THE APPROPRIATE FORUM AREA


                                I apologize for stepping in the way of the warpath. These are 2 machines are "the worst" system for me to deal with so far, and are finding less and less that UBCD4Win doesn't work with. Anyways, sorry for stepping on toes, I think I found the answer by searching for "walk in the park", and I'll start an appropriate thread in the right section if necessary. I do appreciate etiquette, and I am still a noob in some regards to this, so I apologize. Thanks again for everyone's help.
                                0

                                • (2 Pages)
                                • +
                                • 1
                                • 2
                                • You cannot start a new topic
                                • You cannot reply to this topic

                                1 User(s) are reading this topic
                                0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users