UBCD4Win Forums: PreLogon Expires Tomorrow? - UBCD4Win Forums

Jump to content

  • (3 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

PreLogon Expires Tomorrow?

#16 User is offline   rdsok Icon

  • rdsok
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
    • Group: Admin
    • Posts: 6,037
    • Joined: 02-October 05
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Norman, Ok. USA

    Posted 31 January 2007 - 01:12 PM

    For those that may require a visual tutorial on how to perform these steps properly...


    1. Open the UBCD4WinBuilder.exe

    2. Next, click on the Plugins button.


    Posted Image



    3. Highlight the plugin named "!Critical: Joshuas-WinPE-PreLogon Config

    4. Next, click the Config button below.


    Posted Image



    5. Locate the Number of Trials, Expiration date start: and Expiration date end: fields


    Posted Image



    6. Empty the values that are set there now

    7. Next, click the Apply button


    Posted Image



    8. The following confirmation window will appear, click on its OK button...


    Posted Image



    9. Click the Quit button on the PreLogon Config window....


    Posted Image




    Rebuild the project and you are done... it should no longer expire after that and does not require you to make futher changes unless you want to config it to expire of set a password in the future.
    Plan A is always more effective when the device you are working on understands that Plan B involves either a large hammer or screwdriver....
    0

    #17 User is offline   taikamiya Icon

    • Newbie
    • Pip
      • Group: Members
      • Posts: 3
      • Joined: 31-January 07

      Posted 31 January 2007 - 06:53 PM

      View Postrdsok, on Jan 29 2007, 02:00 PM, said:

      you can also disable this or even password protect it.


      Does this mean that the CD will have something like a logon password? Anyone use this in practice and have and c/c?
      0

      #18 User is offline   rdsok Icon

      • rdsok
      • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
        • Group: Admin
        • Posts: 6,037
        • Joined: 02-October 05
        • Gender:Male
        • Location:Norman, Ok. USA

        Posted 31 January 2007 - 06:58 PM

        View Posttaikamiya, on Jan 31 2007, 05:53 PM, said:

        Does this mean that the CD will have something like a logon password? Anyone use this in practice and have and c/c?


        The answer to that should be obvious from the above screenshots to anyone that can think for themselves.... and yes both options... password and expiration are used for good reasons which if you had taken a little to to search the forum on you would have found a lot of posts discussing this very subject.
        Plan A is always more effective when the device you are working on understands that Plan B involves either a large hammer or screwdriver....
        0

        #19 User is offline   smiley Icon

        • Regular Member
        • PipPipPip
          • Group: Members
          • Posts: 154
          • Joined: 13-February 05
          • Location:Germany

          Posted 01 February 2007 - 09:00 AM

          View Postrdsok, on Jan 31 2007, 07:12 PM, said:

          For those that may require a visual tutorial on how to perform these steps properly...


          Thanks.

          This is ok as long as the program itself doesn't expire.
          Seems to be CPU dependent.
          0

          #20 User is offline   Joshua Icon

          • Development Team
          • PipPipPipPipPipPip
            • Group: Moderator & Development
            • Posts: 1,814
            • Joined: 20-September 04
            • Gender:Male
            • Location:Germany, 32839 Steinheim
            • Interests:Computer, Bikes, and many others

            Posted 01 February 2007 - 09:55 AM

            View Postsmiley, on Feb 1 2007, 03:00 PM, said:

            This is ok as long as the program itself doesn't expire.
            Seems to be CPU dependent.

            The program itself did not expire !!!

            Joshua
            my plugin homepage:
            <a href="http://www.drowaelder.de/winpe/PEIndex.htm" target="_blank">http://www.drowaelder.de/winpe/PEIndex.htm</a>
            0

            #21 User is offline   smiley Icon

            • Regular Member
            • PipPipPip
              • Group: Members
              • Posts: 154
              • Joined: 13-February 05
              • Location:Germany

              Posted 01 February 2007 - 02:46 PM

              Tried anything, works on single core, dual core gives

              "Expiration date for this Version has been reached!".
              0

              #22 User is offline   Joshua Icon

              • Development Team
              • PipPipPipPipPipPip
                • Group: Moderator & Development
                • Posts: 1,814
                • Joined: 20-September 04
                • Gender:Male
                • Location:Germany, 32839 Steinheim
                • Interests:Computer, Bikes, and many others

                Posted 01 February 2007 - 03:07 PM

                View Postsmiley, on Feb 1 2007, 08:46 PM, said:

                Tried anything, works on single core, dual core gives
                "Expiration date for this Version has been reached!".

                Post your \I386\SYSTEM32\PRELOGON.INI

                Give more details of your system!

                Joshua
                my plugin homepage:
                <a href="http://www.drowaelder.de/winpe/PEIndex.htm" target="_blank">http://www.drowaelder.de/winpe/PEIndex.htm</a>
                0

                #23 User is offline   smiley Icon

                • Regular Member
                • PipPipPip
                  • Group: Members
                  • Posts: 154
                  • Joined: 13-February 05
                  • Location:Germany

                  Posted 01 February 2007 - 03:40 PM

                  good idea, showed the wrong values.
                  there are two source versions for this file, one in OEM1, and one in plugin\!Critical
                  now I have three identical files, and it works.

                  Thanks!
                  0

                  #24 User is offline   Joshua Icon

                  • Development Team
                  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
                    • Group: Moderator & Development
                    • Posts: 1,814
                    • Joined: 20-September 04
                    • Gender:Male
                    • Location:Germany, 32839 Steinheim
                    • Interests:Computer, Bikes, and many others

                    Posted 01 February 2007 - 04:35 PM

                    View Postsmiley, on Feb 1 2007, 09:40 PM, said:

                    good idea, showed the wrong values.

                    :P:boxing::boxing:

                    Joshua
                    my plugin homepage:
                    <a href="http://www.drowaelder.de/winpe/PEIndex.htm" target="_blank">http://www.drowaelder.de/winpe/PEIndex.htm</a>
                    0

                    #25 User is offline   smiley Icon

                    • Regular Member
                    • PipPipPip
                      • Group: Members
                      • Posts: 154
                      • Joined: 13-February 05
                      • Location:Germany

                      Posted 02 February 2007 - 03:32 AM

                      View PostJoshua, on Feb 1 2007, 10:35 PM, said:

                      :P:boxing::boxing:

                      Joshua


                      :surrender:

                      Hey, your tools are good enough to trust the output....
                      but ok, this is real live: trust nobody...
                      0

                      #26 User is offline   Hawlk Icon

                      • Newbie
                      • Pip
                        • Group: Members
                        • Posts: 2
                        • Joined: 02-February 07

                        Posted 02 February 2007 - 06:12 PM

                        [Shell]
                        PreLogonPasswd=
                        PreLogonPasswdHardDisk=
                        PreLogonTrials=
                        PreLogonCryptedExpirationDateStart=
                        PreLogonCryptedExpirationDateEnd=
                        PrelogonTitelbarCaption=UBCD4Win 3.02

                        I changed my prelogon.ini file to be the above. When I used the configure button it showed this.

                        [Shell]
                        PreLogonPasswd=
                        PreLogonPasswdHardDisk=
                        PreLogonTrials=1
                        PreLogonCryptedExpirationDateStart=
                        PreLogonCryptedExpirationDateEnd=
                        PrelogonTitelbarCaption=UBCD4Win 3.02

                        Did not know if that PreLogonTrials=1 would cause a problem.

                        Now the question, why does my version show 3.02 which and not 3.03? I downloaded it this morning from a mirror that listed 3.03 and showed it as 3.03. Hash checked out with 3.03.

                        Anyways, I hope this solves my problem, A previous admin here configure a XP/or 2K machine with a virtual disk across two drives and yesterday it came up as non system disk. I love it when people think they do not need backups.

                        This post has been edited by Hawlk: 02 February 2007 - 06:15 PM

                        0

                        #27 User is offline   SteelTrepid Icon

                        • Administrator
                        • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
                          • Group: Admin
                          • Posts: 6,191
                          • Joined: 27-April 04
                          • Gender:Male
                          • Location:Ohio

                          Posted 02 February 2007 - 06:58 PM

                          The version # stuff is basically my mistake. I haven't completed my "before release check list" yet. There are so many places where the version # needs changed that I end up forgetting one of them. You do have the latest version.

                          Don't worry about the "trials" item, it is only effective if you have a password for your CD. Basically with that setting, you only have 1 try at getting the password right.
                          "I play Russian roulette everyday, a man's sport, with a bullet called life"

                          "My cause is noble, my power is pure"
                          0

                          #28 User is offline   Hawlk Icon

                          • Newbie
                          • Pip
                            • Group: Members
                            • Posts: 2
                            • Joined: 02-February 07

                            Posted 02 February 2007 - 07:55 PM

                            View PostSteelTrepid, on Feb 2 2007, 06:58 PM, said:

                            Don't worry about the "trials" item, it is only effective if you have a password for your CD. Basically with that setting, you only have 1 try at getting the password right.



                            Awesome the disk works fine without the one in there and I was able to successfully pull the directories needed off of the drive.

                            Thank you for a awesome program.
                            0

                            #29 User is offline   Cellar Dweller Icon

                            • Member
                            • PipPip
                              • Group: Members
                              • Posts: 56
                              • Joined: 20-January 06
                              • Location:Pittsburgh Pennsylvania
                              • Interests:Computers, 3D Animation and Graphics, Gaming

                              Posted 05 February 2007 - 01:07 PM

                              I simply edited the PreLogon.ini file and made these two lines = to nothing as I asked early on. It worked fine.

                              under UBCD4WIN\Plugin\!Critical\Config-PreLogon\

                              Edited these two lines within PreLogon.ini

                              PreLogonCryptedExpirationDateStart=
                              PreLogonCryptedExpirationDateEnd=


                              That's it and the problem is solved or you could use the Config button and tutorial showing exactly how to do it with the GUI shown earlier within this thread...
                              Asus A7N8X-Deluxe v2.0 Nforce 2 (1008)
                              AMD Athlon XP 3200+ (Barton)
                              Corsair PC3200C2 DDR 400 (3 Gig) (Dual Channel)
                              PNY 6800 Ultra 256Mb
                              Plextor PX-716A DVDRW+
                              (2) 80 Gig Seagate SATA (Non-RAID)
                              Dell 2407 Wide Screen Flat Panel
                              Mad Dog 600 Watt Modular PSU
                              0

                              #30 User is offline   lawson23 Icon

                              • Ultra Member
                              • PipPipPipPipPipPip
                                • Group: Members
                                • Posts: 1,008
                                • Joined: 14-January 05
                                • Gender:Male
                                • Location:Lexington, Kentucky

                                Posted 05 February 2007 - 01:24 PM

                                Question:
                                It appears that this is a every build setting is this true?

                                As when I close builder and go back in it shows all the settings back instead of being blank.
                                0

                                • (3 Pages)
                                • +
                                • 1
                                • 2
                                • 3
                                • You cannot start a new topic
                                • You cannot reply to this topic

                                1 User(s) are reading this topic
                                0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users