UBCD4Win Forums: Windows Memory Diagnostic - UBCD4Win Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Windows Memory Diagnostic

#1 User is offline   starm13 Icon

  • Newbie
  • Pip
    • Group: Members
    • Posts: 9
    • Joined: 11-March 07

    Posted 11 March 2007 - 12:24 PM

    I wanted to start by saying thank you for a wonderful boot environment and set of tools.

    I do however have an issue with adding Microsoft Windows Memory Diagnostic to the boot list. I have added a few other ISO files to the boot menu in the plugin\Multiboot-003 folders without issues, so I was curious as to if I mistyped something in the inf or ini file or if there is something that particuliar boot image does not like.

    Basically it just cycles back to the Boot menu on the CD, but here's my files:

    windiag.inf
    ; windiag.inf
    ; Created by Hilander999
    
    [Version]
    Signature= "$Windows NT$"
    
    [PEBuilder]
    Name="!Multiboot: Microsoft Windows Memory Diagnostic"
    Enable=1
    help=\
    
    [WinntDirectories]
    a="images",2
    
    [Append]
    BCDW\BCDW.INI,windiag.ini
    
    [SourceDisksFiles]
    windiag.iso=a,,1
    


    windiag.ini:
    \Images\windiag.iso          ; Microsoft Windows Memory Diagnostic                   ; ^ Test Memory for Errors
    


    Thanks in advance.

    starm13
    0

    #2 User is offline   rdsok Icon

    • rdsok
    • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
      • Group: Admin
      • Posts: 6,037
      • Joined: 02-October 05
      • Gender:Male
      • Location:Norman, Ok. USA

      Posted 11 March 2007 - 03:24 PM

      Make sure that your windiag.ini has one blank line after

      \Images\windiag.iso; Microsoft Windows Memory Diagnostic; ^ Test Memory for Errors
      --> this line is a blank line <--

      Plan A is always more effective when the device you are working on understands that Plan B involves either a large hammer or screwdriver....
      0

      #3 User is offline   starm13 Icon

      • Newbie
      • Pip
        • Group: Members
        • Posts: 9
        • Joined: 11-March 07

        Posted 11 March 2007 - 04:19 PM

        View Postrdsok, on Mar 11 2007, 03:24 PM, said:

        Make sure that your windiag.ini has one blank line after

        \Images\windiag.iso; Microsoft Windows Memory Diagnostic; ^ Test Memory for Errors
        --> this line is a blank line <--


        I have doublechecked that line and rebuilt/reburned the CD and have gotten the same results. I guess I'll need to wait to see if someone can duplicate it or not. I appreciate the feedback though.
        0

        #4 User is offline   The Piney Icon

        • Advanced Member
        • PipPipPipPip
          • Group: Members
          • Posts: 425
          • Joined: 05-July 06
          • Location:Florida

          Posted 11 March 2007 - 05:00 PM

          Why not just add the ISO file to the "plugin\Multiboot-003\z_custom\images" directory and edit the "custom_bcdw.ini" file.

          It has worked for me in the 3.03 build, will double check and report back if any problems in this build.
          0

          #5 User is offline   Joshua Icon

          • Development Team
          • PipPipPipPipPipPip
            • Group: Moderator & Development
            • Posts: 1,814
            • Joined: 20-September 04
            • Gender:Male
            • Location:Germany, 32839 Steinheim
            • Interests:Computer, Bikes, and many others

            Posted 11 March 2007 - 06:04 PM

            View Poststarm13, on Mar 11 2007, 10:19 PM, said:

            I guess I'll need to wait to see if someone can duplicate it or not.

            same problem for me! :angry:
            but i found a solution! :banana:
            you can download my working plugin here: http://www.drowaelde...iag/windiag.rar

            Joshua
            my plugin homepage:
            <a href="http://www.drowaelder.de/winpe/PEIndex.htm" target="_blank">http://www.drowaelder.de/winpe/PEIndex.htm</a>
            0

            #6 User is offline   starm13 Icon

            • Newbie
            • Pip
              • Group: Members
              • Posts: 9
              • Joined: 11-March 07

              Posted 11 March 2007 - 06:06 PM

              Thanks, Joshua. I guess looking at the plugin that instead of saving it again in ISO format, the solution was using WinImage and saving as .img instead of .iso? I guess there is some added info or something bizarre as I had burned the ISO to disc and created a new ISO with the same boot loop issue.

              Anyhow, thanks again.

              Edit: I see that you took the "windiag" file out of the I386 folder. Guess it was looking for something in the root, not within a subfolder. Leave it to some people to make things difficult.

              This post has been edited by starm13: 11 March 2007 - 06:19 PM

              0

              #7 User is offline   Joshua Icon

              • Development Team
              • PipPipPipPipPipPip
                • Group: Moderator & Development
                • Posts: 1,814
                • Joined: 20-September 04
                • Gender:Male
                • Location:Germany, 32839 Steinheim
                • Interests:Computer, Bikes, and many others

                Posted 11 March 2007 - 06:14 PM

                View Poststarm13, on Mar 12 2007, 12:06 AM, said:

                the solution was using WinImage and saving as .img instead of .iso?

                yes ! :P

                Joshua
                my plugin homepage:
                <a href="http://www.drowaelder.de/winpe/PEIndex.htm" target="_blank">http://www.drowaelder.de/winpe/PEIndex.htm</a>
                0

                #8 User is offline   1967ShelbyGT500 Icon

                • Newbie
                • Pip
                  • Group: Donators
                  • Posts: 4
                  • Joined: 05-April 09

                  Posted 30 November 2009 - 09:51 PM

                  View PostJoshua, on 11 March 2007 - 06:14 PM, said:

                  View Poststarm13, on Mar 12 2007, 12:06 AM, said:

                  the solution was using WinImage and saving as .img instead of .iso?

                  yes ! :P

                  Joshua


                  Is the plug in for windows memory test still available anywhere? I can't seem to locate it, the link above is no longer working. I am using current 3.5 version of UBCD4WIN and tried using the z_custom method of implementation, all my other iso's in z_custom work. I did try to use WinImage to change from iso to ima but still didn't work for me, maybe I am doing something wrong in WinImage.

                  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated,
                  Al
                  0

                  #9 User is offline   mbarnes Icon

                  • Ultimate Member
                  • PipPipPipPipPip
                    • Group: Members
                    • Posts: 506
                    • Joined: 13-November 05

                    Posted 02 December 2009 - 09:07 AM

                    Hi 1967ShelbyGT500

                    Since ubcd4win V3.5 already includes MTEST86 on the bootmenu I would recomend use this program rather than try and get the microsoft version working

                    Memtest86+ version 4 is from a different team from memtest86 but based on the same original project
                    It supports more than 2GB of memory which was a problem with some earlier versions

                    If the disk ISO or IMG file you want to boot from exceeds 2.8 MB it is unlikely to work without more work than can easily be covered here

                    regards

                    Mike Barnes
                    0

                    #10 User is offline   1967ShelbyGT500 Icon

                    • Newbie
                    • Pip
                      • Group: Donators
                      • Posts: 4
                      • Joined: 05-April 09

                      Posted 02 December 2009 - 11:21 PM

                      View Postmbarnes, on 02 December 2009 - 09:07 AM, said:

                      Hi 1967ShelbyGT500

                      Since ubcd4win V3.5 already includes MTEST86 on the bootmenu I would recomend use this program rather than try and get the microsoft version working

                      Memtest86+ version 4 is from a different team from memtest86 but based on the same original project
                      It supports more than 2GB of memory which was a problem with some earlier versions

                      If the disk ISO or IMG file you want to boot from exceeds 2.8 MB it is unlikely to work without more work than can easily be covered here

                      regards

                      Mike Barnes


                      I do use Memtest86+ Version 4 as a primary, but with a few systems it hangs up where Windows Memory test works. I realize it may be a lot of work to get it working but I have already spent hours reading posts and searching for a solution. The ISO file for Windows Memory test is 298 KB and when saved as an IMA using WinImage is 1.4 MB. I have an Acronis ISO that is 63MB working from the z_custom. I am willing to spend the time to make it work, however I am not turning up enough information in my searches to point me in the right direction. Any suggestions on where I should look to understand what I need to do to make this work would be greatly appreciated.

                      Thank you,
                      Al
                      0

                      #11 User is offline   hilander999 Icon

                      • Project Development
                      • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
                        • Group: Moderator & Development
                        • Posts: 3,662
                        • Joined: 28-September 05
                        • Gender:Male

                        Posted 03 December 2009 - 02:29 AM

                        @Eleanor

                        If you can see files in the ISO, then the entire working model is not within the boot sector and it will not work that way.
                        You can extract the boot sector as a floppy image, then re-produce the file structure from the CD to your output directory.

                        I'm pretty sure there's a working plugin floating around here somewhere, just not sure where it is at the moment.
                        Dead Blow Hammer - 19 colors of Duck Tape - Bailing Wire
                        0

                        #12 User is offline   mbarnes Icon

                        • Ultimate Member
                        • PipPipPipPipPip
                          • Group: Members
                          • Posts: 506
                          • Joined: 13-November 05

                          Posted 07 December 2009 - 04:25 PM

                          Hi


                          I searched for the Microsoft memory diagnostics at microsoft.com and found mtinst.exe
                          this program creates either a bootable floppy or a CD ISO containing one small file windiag
                          since I still have a floppy drive I created the floppy disk and used WinImage to create windiag.ima

                          This file is bootable by bcdw and runs
                          It is from March 2003 so is rather out of date
                          does any one know of a later version ?

                          regards
                          Mike Barnes
                          0

                          #13 User is offline   1967ShelbyGT500 Icon

                          • Newbie
                          • Pip
                            • Group: Donators
                            • Posts: 4
                            • Joined: 05-April 09

                            Posted 07 December 2009 - 10:52 PM

                            Thank you everyone for the help; creating an image from a floppy instead of using the iso works.

                            Al
                            0

                            Page 1 of 1
                            • You cannot start a new topic
                            • You cannot reply to this topic

                            1 User(s) are reading this topic
                            0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users