UBCD4Win Forums: Adding SpinRite 5.0 - UBCD4Win Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Adding SpinRite 5.0 I want to add my SpinRite software to the disk

#1 User is offline   IdahoTech Icon

  • Newbie
  • Pip
    • Group: Members
    • Posts: 15
    • Joined: 16-November 04
    • Location:Shelley, Idaho
    • Interests:Computers (of Course)<br />Photography, Got my degree in it and I am doing Computer Support? Go figure...<br />Cooking, Fishing, Rock Hounding,

    Post icon  Posted 11 October 2007 - 01:42 PM

    Hello Everyone,

    First let me start off by saying excellent product :clapping:. It has saved a few systems. Ok on to the question.

    I own SpinRite 6 and also have SpinRite 5. With SR6 it will create a bootable img file so that is no problem. The SR5 release though uses a .EXE for running the program. Any ideas how I would get it to work on the CD? Just curious if anyone has ever included this great software on the disk. Of course you must own the software like I do and would like to include the SR5 version on there as well just in case. You know as well as I do there are a lot of systems out there still running older windows that are lurking in the shadows.

    Thanks for any help anyone can give in this matter. If you haven't tried or heard of SpinRite Check it out at grc.com. It has saved many systems that I have worked on when the drive was unreadable :worthy:.

    Thanks

    Idaho Tech
    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not to sure about the universe."
    Albert Einstein

    "Never Argue with a Idiot--They will bring you to their level then beat you with experience."
    Unknown Author

    "I don't know what your problem is, but i bet it is hard to pronounce."
    Unknown Author

    "Ahh - I see the screw-up fairy has visited us again..."
    Unknown Author
    0

    #2 User is offline   JamesIEvans Icon

    • Regular Member
    • PipPipPip
      • Group: BETA Tester
      • Posts: 169
      • Joined: 03-June 05
      • Location:Ohio

      Posted 11 October 2007 - 03:01 PM

      View PostIdahoTech, on Oct 11 2007, 02:42 PM, said:

      I own SpinRite 6 and also have SpinRite 5. With SR6 it will create a bootable img file so that is no problem. The SR5 release though uses a .EXE for running the program. Any ideas how I would get it to work on the CD? Just curious if anyone has ever included this great software on the disk. Of course you must own the software like I do and would like to include the SR5 version on there as well just in case. You know as well as I do there are a lot of systems out there still running older windows that are lurking in the shadows.


      Why not just use Spinrite 6 all the time under the multi boot option? You shouldn't need to use Spinrite 5. As I recall Spinrite 5 needs a very clean DOS boot-up and can't run in Windows.

      I have Spinrite 6 setup for multi boot on my UBCD4Win. Works fine on all systems.
      0

      #3 User is offline   bengt Icon

      • Skeptic
      • PipPipPipPipPipPip
        • Group: Donator/Beta Tester
        • Posts: 1,261
        • Joined: 16-December 05
        • Gender:Male
        • Location:Bork, bork, bork

        Posted 11 October 2007 - 03:14 PM

        put the spinrite.img or the spinrite.iso in a folder together with:
        ---
        ; SpinRite.inf
        ; Created by Bengt

        [Version]
        Signature= "$Windows NT$"

        [PEBuilder]
        Name="!Multiboot: SpinRite 6"
        Enable=1


        [WinntDirectories]
        a="images",2

        [Append]
        BCDW\BCDW.INI,SpinRite_bcdw.ini

        [SourceDisksFiles]
        SpinRite.img=a,,1
        ;SpinRite.iso=a,,1
        ---
        SpinRite_bcdw.ini

        \images\SpinRite.img ; SpinRite 6 ; ^ Data recovery and drive maintenance
        ;\images\SpinRite.iso ; SpinRite 6 ; ^ Data recovery and drive maintenance
        0

        #4 User is offline   IdahoTech Icon

        • Newbie
        • Pip
          • Group: Members
          • Posts: 15
          • Joined: 16-November 04
          • Location:Shelley, Idaho
          • Interests:Computers (of Course)<br />Photography, Got my degree in it and I am doing Computer Support? Go figure...<br />Cooking, Fishing, Rock Hounding,

          Posted 11 October 2007 - 03:39 PM

          Thanks for the resposes so quickly. :clapping:So I would take this and put it into a .inf file in the same folder as the .img file correct?

          As for the SpinRite5 I guess I could leave it be then as you are correct.


          View Postbengt, on Oct 11 2007, 04:14 PM, said:

          put the spinrite.img or the spinrite.iso in a folder together with:
          ---
          ; SpinRite.inf
          ; Created by Bengt

          [Version]
          Signature= "$Windows NT$"

          [PEBuilder]
          Name="!Multiboot: SpinRite 6"
          Enable=1


          [WinntDirectories]
          a="images",2

          [Append]
          BCDW\BCDW.INI,SpinRite_bcdw.ini

          [SourceDisksFiles]
          SpinRite.img=a,,1
          ;SpinRite.iso=a,,1
          ---
          SpinRite_bcdw.ini

          \images\SpinRite.img ; SpinRite 6 ; ^ Data recovery and drive maintenance
          ;\images\SpinRite.iso ; SpinRite 6 ; ^ Data recovery and drive maintenance

          "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not to sure about the universe."
          Albert Einstein

          "Never Argue with a Idiot--They will bring you to their level then beat you with experience."
          Unknown Author

          "I don't know what your problem is, but i bet it is hard to pronounce."
          Unknown Author

          "Ahh - I see the screw-up fairy has visited us again..."
          Unknown Author
          0

          #5 User is offline   bengt Icon

          • Skeptic
          • PipPipPipPipPipPip
            • Group: Donator/Beta Tester
            • Posts: 1,261
            • Joined: 16-December 05
            • Gender:Male
            • Location:Bork, bork, bork

            Posted 11 October 2007 - 03:59 PM

            You are correct about the .img (or .iso)
            but it should be two text files...you put this in an .inf

            View Postbengt, on Oct 11 2007, 10:14 PM, said:

            ; SpinRite.inf
            ; Created by Bengt

            [Version]
            Signature= "$Windows NT$"

            [PEBuilder]
            Name="!Multiboot: SpinRite 6"
            Enable=1


            [WinntDirectories]
            a="images",2

            [Append]
            BCDW\BCDW.INI,SpinRite_bcdw.ini

            [SourceDisksFiles]
            SpinRite.img=a,,1
            ;SpinRite.iso=a,,1


            and this in a SpinRite_bcdw.ini

            View Postbengt, on Oct 11 2007, 10:14 PM, said:

            \images\SpinRite.img ; SpinRite 6 ; ^ Data recovery and drive maintenance
            ;\images\SpinRite.iso ; SpinRite 6 ; ^ Data recovery and drive maintenance

            This post has been edited by bengt: 11 October 2007 - 04:06 PM

            0

            #6 User is offline   IdahoTech Icon

            • Newbie
            • Pip
              • Group: Members
              • Posts: 15
              • Joined: 16-November 04
              • Location:Shelley, Idaho
              • Interests:Computers (of Course)<br />Photography, Got my degree in it and I am doing Computer Support? Go figure...<br />Cooking, Fishing, Rock Hounding,

              Posted 11 October 2007 - 04:36 PM

              Cool so got those 3 in a folder that I put in the Multiboot folder under plugins correct? I am still somewhat new to this customizing further than what I have used it for so bear with me and I do appreciate the help bengt!!

              The rest should be in the threads here I remember or on the site for adding a img file right?

              IdahoTech
              "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not to sure about the universe."
              Albert Einstein

              "Never Argue with a Idiot--They will bring you to their level then beat you with experience."
              Unknown Author

              "I don't know what your problem is, but i bet it is hard to pronounce."
              Unknown Author

              "Ahh - I see the screw-up fairy has visited us again..."
              Unknown Author
              0

              #7 User is offline   bengt Icon

              • Skeptic
              • PipPipPipPipPipPip
                • Group: Donator/Beta Tester
                • Posts: 1,261
                • Joined: 16-December 05
                • Gender:Male
                • Location:Bork, bork, bork

                Posted 11 October 2007 - 04:42 PM

                View PostIdahoTech, on Oct 11 2007, 11:36 PM, said:

                Cool so got those 3 in a folder that I put in the Multiboot folder under plugins correct?

                correct, like so:
                \plugin\Multiboot-003\SpinRite6\
                SpinRite6.img
                SpinRite6.inf
                SpinRite_bcdw.ini

                View PostIdahoTech, on Oct 11 2007, 11:36 PM, said:

                The rest should be in the threads here I remember or on the site for adding a img file right?
                IdahoTech


                there is no rest...no more is needed...
                if you placed the above 3 files in the \plugin\Multiboot-003\SpinRite6 folder
                then off you go - rebuild and that's it

                This post has been edited by bengt: 11 October 2007 - 04:46 PM

                0

                #8 User is offline   IdahoTech Icon

                • Newbie
                • Pip
                  • Group: Members
                  • Posts: 15
                  • Joined: 16-November 04
                  • Location:Shelley, Idaho
                  • Interests:Computers (of Course)<br />Photography, Got my degree in it and I am doing Computer Support? Go figure...<br />Cooking, Fishing, Rock Hounding,

                  Posted 11 October 2007 - 05:09 PM

                  THANKS!!! You have really made my day. Another tool all on one disk for me instead of carying around a bunch of them. I do appreciate all the help on this. Thanks for the help bengt!!! You da Man!!
                  "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not to sure about the universe."
                  Albert Einstein

                  "Never Argue with a Idiot--They will bring you to their level then beat you with experience."
                  Unknown Author

                  "I don't know what your problem is, but i bet it is hard to pronounce."
                  Unknown Author

                  "Ahh - I see the screw-up fairy has visited us again..."
                  Unknown Author
                  0

                  #9 User is offline   lawson23 Icon

                  • Ultra Member
                  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
                    • Group: Members
                    • Posts: 1,008
                    • Joined: 14-January 05
                    • Gender:Male
                    • Location:Lexington, Kentucky

                    Posted 07 December 2007 - 09:35 AM

                    quick question since I have been out for so long.

                    Does the folder have to exist under the multiboot area???
                    \plugin\Multiboot-003\SpinRite6\

                    Or could I put it somewhere else?
                    say
                    \plugin\MYPERSONALPLUGINS\SpinRite6\

                    Since this isn't really pe plugin wondering if it has to be in that folder to work? I'm trying now but thought this should be avail for discussion. Plus will take an hour to find out.
                    -----------------------------------------------------
                    FYI for everyone's information--
                    After building and booting I have confirmed that the above is possible.

                    This post has been edited by lawson23: 07 December 2007 - 10:25 AM

                    0

                    #10 User is offline   bengt Icon

                    • Skeptic
                    • PipPipPipPipPipPip
                      • Group: Donator/Beta Tester
                      • Posts: 1,261
                      • Joined: 16-December 05
                      • Gender:Male
                      • Location:Bork, bork, bork

                      Posted 07 December 2007 - 11:24 AM

                      No need to put it in \plugin\Multiboot-003\
                      but it has to be in the \plugin\ folder
                      so it will do nicely in \plugin\MYPERSONALPLUGINS\SpinRite6\

                      This post has been edited by bengt: 07 December 2007 - 11:27 AM

                      0

                      Page 1 of 1
                      • You cannot start a new topic
                      • You cannot reply to this topic

                      1 User(s) are reading this topic
                      0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users