• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

HOWTO: Installing UBCD4Win to a Flash Drive Includes a boot menu

#1 User is offline   dummptyhummpty Icon

• Pip
    • Group: Members

Posted 26 November 2007 - 07:40 PM

UPDATE: March 8th 2009

NOTE: I consider the following method outdated. There are currently better methods included with UBCD4Win and I recommend using pcuser's UBUSB.exe instead. It automates the steps below and includes a Kicker CD option which is great for computers that can't boot directly from USB. I'm no longer providing the zip file with the files needed for the below steps. If for some reason you need those files, send me a message. Thank you.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------

When I first started using UBCD4Win I set out to see if I could have a fully functioning version boot from my flash drive as I always carry it with me. At first I was able to get just the UBCD4Win environment to load, but was then able to have a functioning Windows Recovery Environment and boot menu. I thought I would share the steps I took to do this.

To get started we need to download some files:
    • Download PeToUSB from GoCoding.com and extract it to C:\temp\PeToUSB.
    • Download Syslinux from Kernel.org and extract it to C:\temp\syslinux.
    • Download the zip containing the boot menu files from my website and save it for later.
    • Build UBCD4WIN as you normally would. If you plan on using the windows recovery console make sure Multiboot is turned on and the recovery console option is enabled.

Now the fun part: