Extracting UBCD4Win:
1. Install Bart's PE©: Extract the pebuilder313.zip file into the folder of your choice. I recommend that you extract Bart's PE© in a folder on the root of one of your harddrives. For example "C:\pebuilder313." Installing to a root folder and not having spaces in the folder name helps prevent a lot of problems. Past users have found that Bart's PE© does not like being located in a folder with spaces, such as trying to run it from a desktop folder. Locating the folder in the root of a hard drive just makes it easier to find.
Bart's PE is also available in a "self-installing package." The link on my "download" page points you to the "zip package." I always recommend the "zip" because it seems easier. In XP, when you double click a ZIP file it asks you where to unzip it, ZIP support is provided. You may also have "WinRAR", "WinZip", "7Zip", or another archive extractor installed on your system, if you do I'm sure you know how to use it. Install packages have several screens and ask for more input. It's not necessary when installing BPE, it doesn't rely on any registry settings and the added menus just waste time.
2. Go to your BPE folder and delete or rename the folder named "plugin." If you are an advanced user of BPE or have some personal plugins then please rename the folder. After you have successfully created the UBCD4Win CD then add your personal plugins, I only ask this to help with troubleshooting errors that could possibly occur. After you successfully build the UBCD4Win CD and then run into problems after adding your personal plugins, we know the issue is not within the UBCD4Win project. Some of the files included in the download will overwrite plugin's that already exist in that folder. I request the plugin folder be deleted because I have either removed or modified some plugins that would be located in the default plugin folder that is comes with Bart's PE©. Several of them are for commercial applications or do not apply to this project. I really recommend that you rename the original folder so that in the future if you find a need for something you still have it. Renaming also helps us in troubleshooting with you if you would happen to run into problems when creating your CD.
3. Extract the UBCD4Win self extracting download file into your BPE folder. It is very important that you extract the file in the appropriate folder. It should be the root folder for Bart's PE© (for example direct it to extract to C:\pebuilder313). The UBCD4Win download file is just a few files that will be added or updated in the BPE folder and a new "plugin" folder packed with all the tools. When asked if you want to replace or overwrite your existing files, please select "Yes."
3a. If you downloaded the "driver" download and wish to include it then read the instructions in this step, if not skip to step 4. You need to set the path to extract the "driver" download file into the "drivers" folder, for example "c:\pebuilder313\drivers". After the file is extracted you should have several new folders in your "\drivers\net" and "\driver\scsiadapter" folders.
4. Insert your XP CD with SP1/SP2 into your CD Rom drive. I am now recommending that users copy their XP CD to their hard drive. Simply because of read errors that have been reported to me by users and it also helps speed the "build" process up when PE Builder is running. Create a "XPCD" folder on one of you hard drives. In Windows Explorer, select from the menu: Tools > Folder Options > View tab. Check that the [show hidden files and folders] radio button is selected and the [hide protected operating system files] is unchecked. Now copy the folders and files from your CD drive to that folder on your hard drive.
5. Launch PE builder©.
Bart's PE© Instructions/help - building UBCD4Win
1. Run Bart's PE© Builder (double click the "pebuilder.exe" file).
2. If it's the first time you have run PE builder then you will see this message. Read it and accept it.

3. This is now the main screen. All options are now available from menus or buttons. No more clicking "next" several times!!

4. On this main screen you only need to modify a few options, please refer to the image above. The options that really matter to a successful build are in bold below, the others are optional and are designed for more experienced users. "Source" needs to be directed to the folder where you copied your XP CD to or the CD drive where your XP CD is located. "Custom", no information is necessary for that option. "Output" is where you would like the files that PE Builder modifies, extracts, and creates located. This is basically the folder that BPE uses to do all of it's work, you can keep it as the default "BartPE."Make sure the "Create ISO image" box is checked and a filename is entered, if not an ISO file will not be created. The path and file will be created if they do not exist. But please remember that the filename must have an "iso" extension or it will not be created. "Burn to CD", a very nice option now included, I still recommend building the ISO image and using other software such as CD Burner Pro XP to burn the ISO.
5. If you need to remove or verify the plugins for your build then click on the "Plugins" button at the bottom. All of the plugins that are included in this project are automatically set to be installed except PPOE for Windows 2k3, Cisco VPN client, and DellFix. There is no need for you to change any of these plugins unless you are creating this CD for a 2k3 system. You would then Disable the PPOEXP plugin and Enable the PPOE2K3. Cisco requires more work to build and was added for more advanced users. Finally, a "DellFix" plugin has been added because there are a few files needed for some Dell systems for the project to boot. Only enable this plugin if you are building the CD from a "Dell" CD to be booted from a Dell system. However if feel there is some software included in the project that you do not want feel free to disable them.

6. With your XP CD loaded you can click "Build"
7. First time users will the first screen below. Users that have already built the CD once may get the second screen below. Just click "Yes" for either message.


8. The Build screen. An example from my computer is below. PE Builder will now create the ISO file. If you receive any error messages please post your problem and error message in the forum. If you receive several, you will be able to jump to each by click on the 3rd and 4th buttons at the bottom of this build screen (the arrow buttons). A log file is also created, if you receive errors, it is very helpful if you email it to me or post it in the forum.

9. Success! Below is the finished screen. You can now click "close", then "exit", and burn your ISO file to CD. Just make sure you select the correct options in your CD burning software. Instructions for CDBurnerXP Pro are provided below. I may provide instructions for burning your CD with the options now included in the latest version of BPE, however at the moment I strongly feel I need to continue to promote what has helped me and many others in the past successfully create my and their CD's. I feel it's great that Bart has now added these options to make building our CD's easier, but personally feel that I must promote other great freeware.

Burning the UBCD4Win ISO
These instructions are for burning the UBCD4Win ISO file that was created by BPE.
Most CD burning applications include the option to burn an ISO image file. You cannot simply burn the ISO file directly to CD it has to be processed by CD burning software to be burnt correctly. I use several freeware applications to accomplish this. I have used Nero and several others but do not honestly care for them, just my personal preference. I cannot provide detailed instructions on how to burn an ISO file for all software packages, that would require a lot of time. Not because I want to be a jerk or lazy but because my two recommendations are just a few clicks and your ISO is burning! Links for the downloads are provided on the "Downloads" page.
CD Burner Pro XP - a very nice freeware CD/DVD burning application. Download it from the "Downloads" page and install it.
1. When you launch it, it will ask you what type of CD you would like to create. Select the first (top) option "Data-CD...etc...etc.."

2. Then pull down the "File" menu and select "Write disc from ISO file..." The ISO writer will pop up.

3. Navigate to the ISO file by clicking on the button next to the path box. Note that I have checked the "Finalize Disc" option. It is not checked by default and should be checked. Now click on "Write Disc."

I like this application because you can also burn audio, data CD's, and even DVD's. I have burnt a lot of CD's and several DVD's with this software, all perfect! I highly recommend this great freeware tool!
Slipstreaming SP1a or SP2 to XP, AutoStreamer and Manual Instructions
AutoStreamer has been released and is available for download from the "Download" page. Below are some of my notes and instructions straight from the author (Raptor). If you do have any questions please email me or post to in the forum. AutoStreamer is an application that makes slipstreaming easier, it is menu driven and includes many features that will help make sure your slipstreamed CD is created properly.
BPE 3.1.3 now includes an option to slipstream your XP CD. Instructions for doing so may be added to this site at a future date. But just like my feelings on the "Burn CD" option (also now available in BPE) I want to stick with other software that helped us before these options became available. If you do not agree with my opinion please feel free to email me, I am always open to discussion and suggestions.
AutoStreamer Instructions:
Preparing:
The latest version of AutoStreamer now includes an installer. Please just follow the prompts on the screen.
Running:
First you have to select between CD or share mode. If you want to use your original XP cd as a source, go with cd mode. If you have a network share which contains the setup files, pick share mode.
I recommend that you copy your XP CD to a folder on your hard drive and when running AS you would then use share mode. It makes slipstreaming faster and there are less chances for errors to occur. Create a "XPCD" folder on one of you hard drives. In Windows Explorer, select from the menu: Tools > Folder Options > View tab. Check that the [show hidden files and folders] radio button is selected and the [hide protected operating system files] is unchecked. Now copy the folders and files from your CD drive to that folder on your hard drive.
The screenshots below are examples of using the "local share" option in AS.
Step 1:
--CD Mode: If you pick cd mode, AutoStreamer will attempt to read your pc's cd drives to detect any windows cds. If you have already inserted your cd in, AS will find it. If not, insert it, and click on the first magnifying glass icon to detect it. After detection succeeds, pick the service pack file by clicking the second magnifying glass icon. AS will attempt to detect what kind of file it is. If all goes well and its a valid SP file (meaning its the correct version, and newer than the source, it is valid) you will be ready to continue to step 2.
--Share Mode: Same as CD Mode, however, the first magnifying glass will prompt you for a valid hard drive location (local or network drive will do). Version detection works here as well. Again, you will have to pick SP file, and AS will verify that everything is good to go...
--SP File: If you downloaded the Network Installation file from MS then point AutoStreamer to that file ( WindowsXP-KB835935-SP2-ENU.exe). If you ordered a free SP2 CD from MS then you need to copy the "XPSP2.EXE" file from root folder of the CD to your hard drive. Then direct AutoStreamer to that file.


Step 2:
It's time to label the CD image. you can give any name you want. I usually name it WINXPSP2_EN or something... Next you have to pick the output file location... I use C:\WINXPSP2_EN.ISO...


If you do not wish to use AutoStreamer to help you create a slipstreamed XP CD, you can always do it the hard way and follow my instructions below:
Manual Instructions:
So you upgraded to XP right when it came out like me too? Bought XP before SP1 or SP1a came out? Slipstreaming look too complicated or not worth the hassle? Don't worry it's very simple, Bart's PE© doesn't require it from a CD! So all you have to do is copy the contents of your XP CD to a folder on your PC then slipstream SP1 to that. Then when BPE asks for the path of the files, just direct BPE to that folder! The instructions are below, several others and I have tested this and it does work. I haven't had the time though to see if you could burn the folder (we will create together) to CD and if BPE would accept it. The CD couldn't be used for installing XP but it may work for BPE. In order for you to burn it to CD and it be able to boot and install Windows from it would require more software downloads and I haven't been able to find a free program that would extract the bootloader. Also the only burning software that I have seen that will allow you to insert the boot loader image is Nero and that isn't for free either!!
All you need is your XP CD, download SP1a or SP2, and follow the instructions below:
*Quick note before the instructions. Please make sure you have the appropriate SP file downloaded for your XP CD. If you own the French version of XP, then you need to use the French SP file. When you are on the M$ site, there are drop down menu's that allow you to select your language.
1. Create 2 folders on your computer. For my instructions I will reference C:\WinXP and C:\WinSP1folders.
2. Insert your XP CD. Open Windows Explorer and navigate to the CD drive you have your XP CD in.
3. You will want to make sure that Explorer is setup to display all hidden and system files to ensure all files are listed and therefore can be copied. The setting is located under the menu Tools > Folder Options > View tab. Check that the [show hidden files and folders] radio button is selected and the [hide protected operating system files] is unchecked.
4. Select all files and folder that exist on the XP CD and copy them to the "C:\WinXP" folder you just created. This should copy all the files from the CD to that folder.
**NOTE: It is not necessary to slipstream SP1a and then SP2 if you want to slipstream SP2. So in other words if your XP CD does not include SP1 and you want to slipstream SP2, then only use the SP2 file. SP2 contains all the updates that were included in SP1a.
5. Take your SP1 file which if downloaded from my link (MS) should be named "xpsp1a_en_x86.exe", and put it in the folder named "C:\WinSP1." Use the "Run" command from your start menu to extract SP1a. You will type "C:\WinSP1\xpsp1a_en_x86.exe -x" A dialogue box will appear asking you where you would like it extracted. It should show "C:\WinSP1" as the path, if so click ok. If not, browse to that folder.
5a. SP2 Instructions - Now take your SP2 file and put it in a folder named "WinSP2" on your root directory of your harddrive. For example the path would be "C:\WinSP2." Use the "Run" command from the start menu to slipstream SP2. You will type "C:\WinSP2\ WindowsXP-KB835935-SP2-ENU.exe /integrate:c:\WinXp" This command will slipstream SP2. Skip step 6 and move onto 7.
6. Now it is time to actually slipstream it. You will be using the "Run" command again to do this. The command to enter in the dialogue box is "C:\WinSP1\Update\Update.exe -S:"C:\WinXP"" You will see several different boxes appear showing you that it is integrating (slipstreaming) SP1a to XP. When it is complete a box will appear announcing "Integrated install has completed successfully." Click "OK" and it is done.
7. You can now go back up to the instructions for Bart's PE instructions - building UBCD4Win. In step 4 you will direct BPE to the "C:\WinXP" folder and it should accept it.
8. Now as I stated in the description below the title for this help section you may be able to take those files in the "C:\WinXP" folder and burn them to CD. If you do not want the 500+ Meg of space used up on your harddrive you could try this. If you want it to be bootable though you will need to add the bootloader file to the CD compilation before burning. Which will require you to use another application designed to extract the bootloader. You will also need CD burning software with the option to include the bootloader to the CD, Nero is a good example of an application that allows you to do this. I think that the newer version of CD Burner XP Pro allows you to do this also but I have not personally tested those features.